Application Acceleration
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
MG
Visitor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎09-24-2009
0 Kudos

Help with CIFS Acceleration

Hi,

 

Looking for a bit of help/guidance on CIFS Acceleration :

 

We have a WXC500 at our Data Centre site, and can see CIFS Acceleration from there to other remote sites (up to 6.9x acceleration)

 

On one of the remote sites (WXC250) I do not see any CIFS Acceleration between them and the Data Centre site in either direction. 

 

Any help on how to diagnose the issue would be appreciated.

 

 

Super Contributor
Posts: 140
Registered: ‎01-29-2008
0 Kudos

Re: Help with CIFS Acceleration

Hi

 

The first thing to check is if the configuration is the same on all devices?

 

Are all devices running the same software version? Which?

 

What does flow diagnostics tells you about the CIFS flow to/from the branch office you have an issue with? Check in Admin -> Tools -> Flow Diagnostics.

 

 

Regards,
Johan
MG
Visitor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎09-24-2009
0 Kudos

Re: Help with CIFS Acceleration

Thanks Johan. Configs the same, same OS.

 

The Flow diags show that the application/CIFS acceleration has not been applied.  I will try and find out why that is.

Super Contributor
Posts: 140
Registered: ‎01-29-2008
0 Kudos

Re: Help with CIFS Acceleration

Hi

 

Please post a screenshoot of the details on the flow you are looking at and maybe we can help you. In general you should look for any red crosses in any of the modules.

 

 

Regards,
Johan
MG
Visitor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎09-24-2009
0 Kudos

Re: Help with CIFS Acceleration

Hi,

 

Screenshot attached.

Super Contributor
Posts: 140
Registered: ‎01-29-2008
0 Kudos

Re: Help with CIFS Acceleration

Hi

 

And what does it say if you click on the "TCP Acceleration" link?

 

Also check the same flow on the other (server side) end.

 

 

Regards,
Johan
MG
Visitor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎09-24-2009
0 Kudos

Re: Help with CIFS Acceleration

Hi Johan, I have tracked a CIFS flow that has an error.

 

On the server side I can see -

SYN-ACK Error(Compressor) DC Not Active

 

 

Distinguished Expert
Posts: 2,109
Registered: ‎08-21-2009
0 Kudos

Re: Help with CIFS Acceleration

Check if you have tunnels up in both directions

WXC500->branch

branch->WXC500

Also, if tunnel(s) is(are) down and there are firewalls/IPSec tunnels in the path, try to use UDP mode and not IPComp.

This can be configured per-tunnel per-direction.  

___________________________________
Accept as Solution = cool !
Accept as Solution+Kudo = You are a Star !
Super Contributor
Posts: 140
Registered: ‎01-29-2008
0 Kudos

Re: Help with CIFS Acceleration

Agree, seems like the compression/decompression is not working correctly.

 

 

Regards,
Johan
MG
Visitor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎09-24-2009
0 Kudos

Re: Help with CIFS Acceleration

Thanks for your help.

 

Tunnels up, no disconnection issues.  Yes it is UDP.

 

I rebooted the remote WXC at the weekend, and I am now seeing 5x acceleration.

Highlighted
Super Contributor
Posts: 140
Registered: ‎01-29-2008
0 Kudos

Re: Help with CIFS Acceleration

Hi

 

Humm...Could it be that the CIFS session you had an issue with was established before the tunnel was established? In this case the flow would not accelerate. CIFS sessions can be very long lived, they don't timeout like say a HTTP session does.

 

Anyway, good that you got it sorted.

 

 

Regards,
Johan