Application Acceleration
Reply
JEP
Contributor
JEP
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎06-06-2009
0
Accepted Solution

Is it possible to put the WXC in bypass from software?

Hi everybody

 

I'm looking for a way to put a running WXC in Bypass mode from console. Is it possible?

 

Thanks in advance

Trusted Contributor
mageshs
Posts: 70
Registered: ‎04-15-2010
0

Re: Is it possible to put the WXC in bypass from software?

Hi,

 

You can put the WXC in safe-mode (which acts like Bypass) from the console connection as well.

 

WXC-590-1# reboot -safe-mode 

 

After you execute the command, the WXC will be rebooted and when it comes up, it will be in Safe mode (acts as Bypass).

 

If you need to recover the WXC from the safe mode, you have to reboot the WXC again, so that it comes out of the safe mode.

 

I hope this clarifies your queries.

 

Thanks,

 

Magesh S.

Juniper Networks
Advanced JTAC Engineer - WX/MFC
 

 



 



JEP
Contributor
JEP
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎06-06-2009
0

Re: Is it possible to put the WXC in bypass from software?

Hi Magesh

 

Thanks for your help again.

 

I saw this process in the documentation, but my question was about the possibility (or not) to enter in the Bypass state without restart the system, it means, from the operational state directly.

 

Regards

Trusted Contributor
mageshs
Posts: 70
Registered: ‎04-15-2010
0

Re: Is it possible to put the WXC in bypass from software?

 

Hi ,

 

If the Compression and the Decompression is turned off in the WXC, its same like safe mode.

 

When the   Compression and the Decompression are turned off, the tunnels will not be established.

 

WXC-590-1(config-reduction)# set reducer off

WXC-590-1(config-reduction)# set assembler off

 

Please do a commit and save-config.

 

When you want to turn them on,

 

 WXC-590-1(config-reduction)# set reducer on

WXC-590-1(config-reduction)# set assembler on

I hope this would be helpful to you.

 

Thanks,
Magesh S.
Juniper Networks
Advanced JTAC Engineer - WX/MFC
 




 

JEP
Contributor
JEP
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎06-06-2009
0

Re: Is it possible to put the WXC in bypass from software?

:-)

Thanks a lot of

Visitor
JoTraGo
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎08-17-2009
0

Re: Is it possible to put the WXC in bypass from software?

In the Web Interface go Compression > Uncheck  "Enable this device to DECOMPRESS traffic from all other WX devices"

This will drop all inbound tunnels, and traffic will become passthrough from remote sites.

 

Do the same at the other end of the link for the outbound tunnel.

 

NB This will drop ALL tunnels in one direction the method will not selectively disable a single link..

 

 

Copyright© 1999-2013 Juniper Networks, Inc. All rights reserved.