Automation & Programmability
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 

Python for Non-Programmers (Part 1)

by ‎11-11-2013 01:34 PM - edited ‎03-27-2014 04:33 AM

PYTHON AS A POWER TOOL

When I talk with Network Engineers and Operations teams about automation, often times the response is: "I am not a programmer, so I can't do this".  Worse yet are folks in the blog-o-sphere saying that if networking folks don't become a programmers, they will become obsolete.  This is all rubbish. 

Have you ever used Linux, and hacked out a shell "for" or "while" loop to do a quick repetitive task?  I'm sure you have, but would you call that programming?  No, of course not.  I have friends that are in different fields, like science and finance.  They use programming languages, like Python, to do numerical analysis, as a power-tool for their job.  If you ask my friend the scientist if they are a "Programmer", they would say "NO!  I am a Scientist!" 

So there seems to be a (self inflicted) distinction between using a programming language as a power-tool and being a programmer as a profession.  And yes, I do believe there is a distinct difference, and no, it does not mean you have a Computer Science degree.

So perhaps we can all agree that using a programming language does not make you a programmer.  It's just a power-tool to help you do you job. So now you can get over it, and start to have some fun and be more productive.

AUTOMATION IS ABOUT CONSUMPTION

My basic thesis is that automation is defined by the nature of the consumer, that is, the person using the automation technology.  The technology could be a purpose built tool/product, an IT framework, a set of language libraries, SDKs, or a combination of the above.  I've even tried to make this concept consumable by creating an analogy to "ice cream" - as described in this blog