Ethernet Switching
Reply
Trusted Contributor
Luca
Posts: 314
Registered: ‎06-11-2009
0

1Gb SFP on EX4500

Is it possible to run a 1Gb SFP on an EX4500?

Distinguished Expert
Screenie
Posts: 1,073
Registered: ‎01-10-2008
0

Re: 1Gb SFP on EX4500

Yes it is! for a few 1 gig this a good solution. When you need a lot of 1 Gig putting the 4500 in VC with a 4200 (F) is another solution.

best regards,

Screenie.
Juniper Ambassador,
JNCIA IDP AC WX JNCIS FW SSL JNCIP SEC ENT SP JNCI

If this worked for you please flag my post as an "Accepted Solution" so others can benefit. A kudo would be cool if you think I earned it.
Contributor
jackycheung
Posts: 52
Registered: ‎02-02-2010
0

Re: 1Gb SFP on EX4500

EX4500 built in ports support both 1G and 10G SFP, but rememer not for the module :smileyhappy:

JNCIP-SP/ENT/SEC
Contributor
wtucker
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎03-05-2010
0

Re: 1Gb SFP on EX4500

The EX4500 uplink module can take both 1G and 10G - including a mix of the two. An EX4500 is cheaper per port than an EX4200-24F, even if you're using them all for 1G, if you need any more than 28 ports (24+4). :w
Trusted Contributor
Luca
Posts: 314
Registered: ‎06-11-2009
0

Re: 1Gb SFP on EX4500

Can the EX4500 also take 1Gb ethernet SFPs?

Recognized Expert
wimclend
Posts: 272
Registered: ‎04-03-2009
0

Re: 1Gb SFP on EX4500

keep in mind that the EX4500 does NOT support 10/100; only 1G/10G

 

will

Trusted Contributor
Luca
Posts: 314
Registered: ‎06-11-2009
0

Re: 1Gb SFP on EX4500

Yes, but it will support a 1Gb ethernet SFP, yes or no?

Contributor
Michael Gonnason
Posts: 42
Registered: ‎11-02-2010
0

Re: 1Gb SFP on EX4500

Yes it will.

 

I had my EX4500s stated for testing with 1Gb SFPs, specifically EX-SFP-1GE-T.

 

I had two of them joined into an LACP bundle working with a ex4200.

Copyright© 1999-2013 Juniper Networks, Inc. All rights reserved.