Switching

last person joined: yesterday 

Ask questions and share experiences about EX and QFX portfolios and all switching solutions across your data center, campus, and branch locations.
  • 1.  CLI freezes after ctrl+c

Posted 03-12-2010 03:40

Hello,

I am fairly new to Juniper and am trying to configure an EX4200 switch on the oob interface using putty ssh and noticed some strange behaviour and I am trying to figure out if it is a JunOS bug or something else.

I was using the show command to verify the configuration on the switch and accidentally pushed the "e" key during the output which prompted the "match except:" option. So I pressed ctrl+c to abort and then enter to return to the commandline. now 10 seconds later (or more - timeframe seems to be random)  the CLI freezes completely. I then have to reconnect using a new putty session. (however on some occasions it did unfreeze after 10 minutes or so.)

I tested this a few times and noticed that if I do type some characters after the "match except:" prompt and then press the abort sequence this issue does not occur. only when I leave it blank before pressing abort.

So I was just wondering if this was a know issue / bug ?

• 2.  RE: CLI freezes after ctrl+c

Posted 03-12-2010 04:33

Hi Kirs,

I have seen a couple of similar issues... Could you please let us know what version you are running ? I'll see if I can dig-up a bug.

Thanks,

/david

• 3.  RE: CLI freezes after ctrl+c

Posted 03-12-2010 05:23

Hi David,

Thanks for your quick reply

I recently upgraded to 10.0S1.1 but I seem to recall having the same issue when I was using version 9.4R1.8 allthough I am not certain of that. But I still have to unpack another switch which should have an older version installed so I will verify if it has the same issue.

• 4.  RE: CLI freezes after ctrl+c

Posted 03-12-2010 08:14

This behavior occurs on older releases. I have seen it on 9.6 also. It occurs regardless of CLI connection - IP ssh or console connect.