Ethernet Switching
Reply
Contributor
TommyE
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎09-23-2008
0

DHCP adress on one port only?!

Hello

 

Wondering if anyone can help me, if at all possible?!

 

Wondering if it is possible to have a DHCP server hand out only one ip adress to a spesific port on an EX switch?

 

I want eg. port 48 to give out the adress 192.168.1.90 no matter which machine/equipment is connected to it.

All other ports will give out in the range 192.168.1.1-192.168.1.254 as normal.

 

To make this even more complicated I want to run the DHCP server on one of my Microsoft servers.

 

So in essence, lock one port to give out one spesific adress thru DHCP.

 

Regards

Tommy

 

JNCIS-FWV
JNCIA-Junos
Super Contributor
ronf
Posts: 214
Registered: ‎04-04-2011
0

Re: DHCP adress on one port only?!

The DHCP server on the Microsoft box would not be an issue, but I do not know of any way to break up a DHCP scope by the port the traffic was received on.

 

Ron

JNCIE-SEC #127
Distinguished Expert
dfex
Posts: 705
Registered: ‎04-17-2008
0

Re: DHCP adress on one port only?!

Hi Tommy,

 

You may be able to do this - make sure the RVI for that VLAN is on the same switch and the DHCP server is in a different subnet.  Then look into forwarding-options helpers bootp dhcp-option82.  This appends the incoming interface to a DHCP request, so the server can identify port.  It's been a while since I've used MS DHCP, but you may be able to allocate an address based on the contents of the Option 82 field.

 

Hope this helps - post back here if you get it working

Ben Dale
JNCIP-ENT, JNCIS-SP, JNCIE-SEC #63
Juniper Ambassador
Follow me @labelswitcher
Contributor
ed_gpc
Posts: 194
Registered: ‎09-21-2010
0

Re: DHCP adress on one port only?!

That seems like a really convoluted way of creating a guest / maint port....

 

I like the idea of a diff vlan myself

Copyright© 1999-2013 Juniper Networks, Inc. All rights reserved.