Switching

last person joined: 10 hours ago 

Ask questions and share experiences about EX and QFX portfolios and all switching solutions across your data center, campus, and branch locations.
  • 1.  EX2200 - What good is mvrp?

Posted 10-31-2011 12:51

First off, I'm new to Juniper (and to most networking) so if I'm being stupid just say so and point me to what I'm missing.

I'm on 11.3R2.4.

I just got off the phone with Juniper support as I couldn't understand what was going on with mvrp. I have 4 switches where I created a few VLANs on the first one, set up 3 trunks, connected the other 3 switches to it and turned on mvrp.

I saw that the VLAN IDs had gotten passed around the other switches, but I can't use them for assignment. They show up in a show vlans from the standard prompt but from the configure prompt there's nothing there.

From JWeb if you try to change the VLAN config for a port, they show up in the list of available ones, but the commit fails.

So...what good is mvrp if all it does is pseudo copies the VLAN IDs around the network?

• 2.  RE: EX2200 - What good is mvrp?

Posted 10-31-2011 15:40

The switch will transport the vlans over trunks when it learns it by mvrp and vlan all isn't configured.

• 3.  RE: EX2200 - What good is mvrp?

Posted 10-31-2011 19:43

You have to configure vlans you will use on the local switch, but by default any switch that is just moving traffic on trunks won't know about the vlans and will not accept them on 802.1q trunks. mvrp allows those middle switches to know about the vlans and thus handle their traffic.

In a small environment, you may not find this useful. It can be a life saver in a huge switching environment. vlan pruning is also supported with mvrp, so if a vlan doesn't need to be on a trunk, it is not enabled on the trunk. This is the primary function of MVRP.