Ethernet Switching
Reply
Contributor
Jawwad_Paracha
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎09-07-2009
0
Accepted Solution

EX3200 and Cisco 2960 trunk link issue

Dear All,

 

With reference to attached file, we are running this type of topology in our network environment. When I connect link between EX3200 secondary switch and 2960 switch it causes loop in the network and network devices attached to these switches starts to be unpingable.

 

Please help me regarding this issue.

 

Regards,

Muhammad Jawwad Paracha 

Distinguished Expert
mikep
Posts: 483
Registered: ‎06-30-2009

Re: EX3200 and Cisco 2960 trunk link issue

Hi,

 

could you please attach your configs? Which Junos version are you running on EX?

 

Kind Regards

Michael Pergament

Contributor
Jawwad_Paracha
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎09-07-2009
0

Re: EX3200 and Cisco 2960 trunk link issue

Cisco 2960


spanning-tree mode rapid-pvst
spanning-tree extend system-id
spanning-tree pathcost method long
!
vlan internal allocation policy ascending
!
!
!

interface GigabitEthernet0/1           (This connected to Juniper EX3200 Primary Switch)
 description Distribution layer Switch
 switchport trunk native vlan 100
 switchport trunk allowed vlan 1,25,30,75,100,150,350,400,450,911,999
 switchport mode trunk
end

interface GigabitEthernet0/2         (This connected to Juniper EX3200 Secondary Switch)
 description Distribution layer Switch
 switchport trunk native vlan 100
 switchport trunk allowed vlan 1,25,30,75,100,150,350,400,450,911,999
 switchport mode trunk
end


Juniper EX3200 Primary Switch

interfaces {
    ge-0/0/5 {
        ether-options {
            speed {
                1g;
            }
            802.3ad ae0;
        }
    }
    ge-0/0/6 {
        ether-options {
            speed {
                1g;
            }
            802.3ad ae0;
        }
    }
    ae0 {
        aggregated-ether-options {
            lacp {
                active;
            }
        }
        unit 0 {
            family ethernet-switching {
                port-mode trunk;
                vlan {
                    members [ AWT-Operations AWT-Trust AWT-Untrust-Core-Network Clearing-Operation DMZ EthCallCenter Finance GuestVlan ISM_ADMIN_HR Wateen-untrusted-vlan ];
                }
                native-vlan-id Native-Vlan;
            }
        }
    }

 

    ge-0/0/22 {               (This is Connected to int gi 0/1 on Cisco)
        unit 0 {
            family ethernet-switching {
                port-mode trunk;
                vlan {
                    members [ AWT-Operations AWT-Trust AWT-Untrust-Core-Network Clearing-Operation DMZ EthCallCenter Finance GuestVlan ISM_ADMIN_HR Wateen-untrusted-vlan ];
                }
                native-vlan-id Native-Vlan;
            }
        }
    }


protocols {        
    igmp-snooping {
        vlan all;
    }
    lldp {
        interface all;
    }
    lldp-med {
        interface all;
    }
    rstp;
}




Juniper EX3200 Secondary Switch


    ge-0/0/22 {
        ether-options {
            speed {
                1g;
            }
            802.3ad ae0;
        }
    }
    ge-0/0/23 {
        ether-options {
            speed {
                1g;
            }
            802.3ad ae0;
        }
    }              
    ae0 {
        aggregated-ether-options {
            lacp {
                active;
            }
        }
        unit 0 {
            family ethernet-switching {
                port-mode trunk;
                vlan {
                    members [ AWT-Operations AWT-Trust AWT-Untrust-Core-Network Clearing-Operation DMZ EthCallCenter Finance GuestVlan ISM_ADMIN_HR Wateen-untrusted-vlan ];
                }
                native-vlan-id Native-Vlan;
            }
        }
    }

 

    ge-0/0/18 {                                          (This is Connected to int gi 0/2 on Cisco)
        unit 0 {
            family ethernet-switching {
                port-mode trunk;
                vlan {
                    members [ AWT-Operations AWT-Trust AWT-Untrust-Core-Network DMZ Finance ISM_ADMIN_HR Wateen-untrusted-vlan EthCallCenter GuestVlan ];
                }
                native-vlan-id Native-Vlan;
            }
        }
    }


protocols {
    igmp-snooping {
        vlan all;
    }
    lldp {
        interface all;
    }
    lldp-med {
        interface all;
    }
    rstp;
}

Running JUNOS Base OS Software Suite [9.2-20081126.1] on Juniper EX3200 Switch

 

Contributor
Hedia
Posts: 93
Registered: ‎05-28-2008

Re: EX3200 and Cisco 2960 trunk link issue

Hello,

 

You'are facing a spanning-tree issue.

RSTP from Cisco and Juniper are NOT compatible !

CISCO RSTP calculates STP per-VLAN (multiple instance).

Juniper RSTP calculates STP for all VLAN (one instance).

 

You should move to MSTP configuration on all switches or upgrade to 9.6 which supports VSTP.

VSTP uses RSTP as the protocol on a per-VLAN basis.

 

Hope it can help you.

 

Regards,

 

Hedi

Contributor
Jawwad_Paracha
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎09-07-2009
0

Re: EX3200 and Cisco 2960 trunk link issue

Thnx Hedia for the help, let me download JUNOS 9.6 and check for the VSTP and will let u know if any problem occurs.

 

Regards,

Muhammad Jawwad Paracha 

Recognized Expert
Dominik
Posts: 392
Registered: ‎01-05-2008

Re: EX3200 and Cisco 2960 trunk link issue

[ Edited ]

Hi,

 

just a supplemental to Hedia's post: Cisco uses a proprietary variant of the spanning tree protocol: PVST and PVST+. This is what is causing the problem. Juniper published an excellent whitepaper that has a chapter about how to get Cisco and Non-Cisco switches to work togehter:

 

Spanning Tree Protocol in Layer 2 and Layer 3 Environments

http://www.juniper.net/us/en/local/pdf/implementation-guides/8010002-en.pdf

 

Regards,

Dominik

 

 

 

Message Edited by Dominik on 10-08-2009 08:35 AM
JNCIE et al.

--
The Axiom of Choice is obviously true, the well-ordering principle obviously false, and who can tell about Zorn's lemma?
Contributor
Jawwad_Paracha
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎09-07-2009
0

Re: EX3200 and Cisco 2960 trunk link issue

I have upgraded my JUNOS to 9.6. Running VSTP on both EX3200 switches. Tested the secondary link too. Its working gr8. Thnx every1 for the help.
Copyright© 1999-2013 Juniper Networks, Inc. All rights reserved.