Switching

last person joined: yesterday 

Ask questions and share experiences about EX and QFX portfolios and all switching solutions across your data center, campus, and branch locations.
  • 1.  EX3200 - use of out of band management port

Posted 03-09-2012 09:02
      |   view attached

Hi,

I am new to Juniper and EX switches. I am trying to use the mangement port at the back of the switch. The me0 port is configured as follows  and also i have a default route set  but unable to even ping the default gateway. The me0 port is connected with the LAB switch. What am i missing ?  (attached the switch config)

Thanks in advance for help.

MSC

[edit interfaces me0]

unit 0 {
        family inet {
            address 172.25.8.73/24;
        }
    }

[edit routing-options]
    static {
        route 0.0.0.0/0 next-hop 172.25.8.1;
    }

[edit routing-options]

SW1# run ping 172.25.8.1                                  
    PING 172.25.8.1 (172.25.8.1): 56 data bytes
    ping: sendto: No route to host
    ping: sendto: No route to host
    ^C
    --- 172.25.8.1 ping statistics ---
    2 packets transmitted, 0 packets received, 100% packet loss

[edit routing-options]

Attachment(s)

txt
    SW1.txt   3 KB 1 version

• 2.  RE: EX3200 - use of out of band management port

Posted 03-12-2012 02:00

can you see the me0 interface up by "show interface terse"? and can you ping self ip 172.25.8.73?

If it's up but still can't ping, you may need to reboot the switch while me0 interface is up (connecting cable).

• 3.  RE: EX3200 - use of out of band management port

Posted 03-12-2012 02:32

I am not sure I understand why you would have a vlan l3 interface that is in the subnet of your oob management subnet?  That said, I think the rest of your configuration seems fairly straightforward, and I would expect it to "just work".