Ethernet Switching
Reply
Contributor
zthiel
Posts: 53
Registered: ‎05-29-2008
0

EX4200 with Cisco 7902 & 7905 IP Phones

We are having some odd behavior with our Cisco 7902/7905 phones on our Juniper network. The Cisco 7902/7905 phones will sporadically work and not work. Below is the configuration on the Juniper side, I am hard setting the Admin VLAN on the Cisco phones. Our Cisco 7940 phones are working perfectly. The 7902/7905's are only 10BASE-T but I cannot hard set the phone side, if I leave both sides at AUTO then it seems we have even more problems. Ideas?

 


    ge-0/0/7 {
        description Phone;
        ether-options {
            no-auto-negotiation;
            no-flow-control;
            link-mode full-duplex;
            speed {
                10m;
            }
        }
        unit 0 {
            family ethernet-switching {
                port-mode access;
                vlan {
                    members Voice;

Distinguished Expert
firewall72
Posts: 826
Registered: ‎05-04-2008
0

Re: EX4200 with Cisco 7902 & 7905 IP Phones

Hi,

 

Are you sure you're not coming across an LLDP-MED issue?  I could be wrong, but I believe natively the 7902/5 supports CDP.  Others have had success upgrading the firmware on the phone (see link).  I hope this helps.

 

http://forums.juniper.net/t5/Ethernet-Switching/Non-LLDP-MED-Cisco-Phones-and-Voice-Vlan-HELP/td-p/2...

 

-John

John Judge
JNCIS-SEC, JNCIS-ENT,

If this solves your problem, please mark this post as "Accepted Solution". Kudos are appreciated.
Distinguished Expert
dfex
Posts: 768
Registered: ‎04-17-2008
0

Re: EX4200 with Cisco 7902 & 7905 IP Phones

I would leave the port set to auto-negotiate with all those options turned off unless the interface is actually flapping.

 

When the phones don't work, what state do they go into?

 

I don't think you need LLDP-MED, because you're only using an access VLAN.

Ben Dale
JNCIP-ENT, JNCIS-SP, JNCIE-SEC #63
Juniper Ambassador
Follow me @labelswitcher
Contributor
zthiel
Posts: 53
Registered: ‎05-29-2008
0

Re: EX4200 with Cisco 7902 & 7905 IP Phones

The phones are all at the latest Cisco firmware. When the 7902's don't work the red/green lights flash on it and there is no dial tone. Then if I put the handset back on the base wait a few minutes it will sometimes work again. Then if I pick it up it will go dead and the lights will flash.

 

On the 7905's I will randomly get an "ethernet disconnected" message on the display.

Contributor
zthiel
Posts: 53
Registered: ‎05-29-2008
0

Re: EX4200 with Cisco 7902 & 7905 IP Phones

When I leave the switch interface at auto neg, the port will come up as 10m half duplex. There is no way to hard set the speed/duplex on the 7902/7905 phones. And I know I might be causing a problem having each side set differently, but it's the only way they stay at 10m full duplex.

Contributor
zthiel
Posts: 53
Registered: ‎05-29-2008
0

Re: EX4200 with Cisco 7902 & 7905 IP Phones

Sorry for the additional posts, another side note is we have 7940 Cisco phones that work with ZERO problems.

Copyright© 1999-2013 Juniper Networks, Inc. All rights reserved.