Switching

last person joined: 18 hours ago 

Ask questions and share experiences about EX and QFX portfolios and all switching solutions across your data center, campus, and branch locations.
  • 1.  Frustratation using loopback address and unable to access (easy and obvious but I'm missing it)

Posted 05-09-2012 21:27

So I'm new to Juniper coming from a Brocade/Marconi/Alcatel background (ten years ago) and having immense frustration trying to use looopback for in-band network management.  Been scouring the board (and the KB  and google) for a couple days now along with Day One JunOS, SRX, and EX documents and the problem is they either don't answer the obvious (to me) or are using configurations way more advanced than my setup which is frustrating as this seems like a two minute fix.  

Anways the configuration is the standard: ISP<--DHCP-->SRX-220H<-->EX-3200 with the 3200 being way underutilized as basically a big dumb switch (which is fine, it's supporting 25 workstations/printers).  Everything is working fine short of I can't figure out how to configure a management IP on EX-3200 (inband, not me0), loopback or otherwise, and can only get to the SRX management interface via the LAN GW.  Do I really need to create vlans, etc just to do this?  I can just simply assign the EX lo0 (for example) a LAN IP? (ditto with SRX).

Configs are attached, what am I missing (the obvioius?) and thanks for humoring a rusty network guy (been in security for nearly ten years now). 

Thanks,

-Peter 

PS: Yes I could have the EX to the routing and configure a /30 between the SRX and EX but not sure if that gains me anything.  No I can't remove the SRX from the picture as it's doing UTM and IDP for the local office.   

#EX
    #SRX
    #basic

Attachment(s)

txt
    srx.conf.txt   5 KB 1 version
    txt
    ex3200.conf.txt   1 KB 1 version

• 2.  RE: Frustratation using loopback address and unable to access (easy and obvious but I'm missing it)

Posted 05-10-2012 04:39