Ethernet Switching
Reply
Contributor
flyfshmn
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎02-15-2011
0

Interface limiting

[ Edited ]

I would like to find a way to configure the 802.3ad interface for limiting the TX to a single interface   

 

 

ge-0/0/6 {                          
        description "Link 1 (ae19) - Host008 L2 LAG to Host008 NIC1";
        ether-options {
            802.3ad ae19;

 

    ge-1/0/6 {                          
        description "Link 2 (ae19) - Host008 L2 LAG to Host008 NIC2";
        ether-options {
            802.3ad ae19;

 

    ae19 {
        description "HOST008 Private L2 LAG";
        aggregated-ether-options {
            minimum-links 1;
            link-speed 1g;              
            lacp {
                active;
                periodic fast;
            }
        }
        unit 0 {
            family ethernet-switching {
                port-mode trunk;
                vlan {
                    members [ Vlan110 Vlan111 Vlan143 Vlan144 ];

 

Basically looking to have only one port up and 2nd on standby with automatic failover still working for redundancy

Super Contributor
nikolay.semov
Posts: 170
Registered: ‎03-15-2012
0

Re: Interface limiting

I'm not sure how to do what you're asking, considering the other end of the connection is a host (or is it a vSwitch?), but I'm curious about the reason for this requirement. Could you please explain?
Contributor
flyfshmn
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎02-15-2011
0

Re: Interface limiting

The host is a server that is connected via 802.3ad using a drop down that is set to only TCP. Seems that when the LAG is up, the 2nd interface may be losing packets. Thinking it could be a server issue with drivers, but trying to create a work around that could show us some light on the issue.

 

Basically, need a LAG that only has 1 interface up, 2nd interface as standby and ready for auto failover..

Super Contributor
nikolay.semov
Posts: 170
Registered: ‎03-15-2012
0

Re: Interface limiting

I'm not sure what you mean by "using a drop down that is set to only TCP."

 

I don't believe you can tell LAG to use only one interface and automatically failover. What you could try if you haven't done so already is remove the "lacp" clause from your configuration altogether. Weird things happen when the two sides of the LAG aren't talking LACP to each other properly.

Copyright© 1999-2013 Juniper Networks, Inc. All rights reserved.