Ethernet Switching
Reply
JEP
Contributor
JEP
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎06-06-2009
0

L2 tunnel in a L3 Network

Hi everybody

I would connect two VLANs (or ports) defined on two separated EX4200 that do not have a L2 connection but connected in a L3 cloud. Is it possible?.

Thanks
Recognized Expert
Loup2
Posts: 301
Registered: ‎04-22-2008
0

Re: L2 tunnel in a L3 Network

Hi JEP

 

Yes, that's what MPLS is made for today.

In V9.5 on your EX4200 you can use CCC on MPLS (Circuit Cross Connect)

 

This is a kind of Layer 2 VPN.

 

Here is the explanation of the configuration:

http://www.juniper.net/techpubs/en_US/junos9.5/topics/example/mpls-ex-series-configuring.html 

JEP
Contributor
JEP
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎06-06-2009
0

Re: L2 tunnel in a L3 Network

Hi Loup2, thanks for your answer.

About the scenario, it seems that we need a MPLS enabled network on all PS switches between the edge switches. Isn't?
Is it possible to connect the L2 VLANs across a L3 network without MPLS?. Is it possible to built something as a point to point L2 connection in a L3 cloud?

Thanks again.
Recognized Expert
Loup2
Posts: 301
Registered: ‎04-22-2008
0

Re: L2 tunnel in a L3 Network

Yes you're right

 

You need an MPLS core network.

 

If it's not the case you need a CPE provisionned L2 vpn, some kind of L2 tunneling but I don't know how you can acheive this .. I am quite sure you can't  with only the  EX4200.

JEP
Contributor
JEP
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎06-06-2009
0

Re: L2 tunnel in a L3 Network

Thanks Loup2
LA
Contributor
LA
Posts: 29
Registered: ‎09-16-2008
0

Re: L2 tunnel in a L3 Network

Hi,

 

For a layer 3 interface you need to configure a RVI-interface and  for a l2-connection you just need the define another vlan.  Then you define a trunk on the interfaces for the RVI and the L2-vlan on both switches and case closed.

 

I can send you an example of it if you need it.

 

Bes regards

 

 

JEP
Contributor
JEP
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎06-06-2009
0

Re: L2 tunnel in a L3 Network

Hi LA

Thank you very much for your email.
Can you send me the example you reference in your email?

Regards
LA
Contributor
LA
Posts: 29
Registered: ‎09-16-2008
0

Re: L2 tunnel in a L3 Network

set interfaces ge-0/0/0 unit 0 family ethernet-switching port-mode trunk

set interfaces ge-0/0/0 unit 0 family ethernet-switching vlan members vlan100

set interfaces ge-0/0/0 unit 0 family ethernet-switching native-vlan-id 408

 

set interfaces vlan unit 408 family inet address 172.26.254.57/30

set vlans trunk vlan-id 408 set vlans trunk l3-interface vlan.408

 

set vlans vlan100 vlan-id 100 set vlans vlan100 interfaces ge-0/0/1.0

 

set protocols ospf area 0.0.0.0 interface vlan.408 retransmit-interval 1

set protocols ospf area 0.0.0.0 interface vlan.408 hello-interval 1

set protocols ospf area 0.0.0.0 interface vlan.408 dead-interval 4

 

First 3 rules define a trunk with a RVI (vlan-id 408) and te other vlans that you want to trunk.  I think it's best that you use the RVI as native vlan this way you can ping this interface if you connect a PC to that port.

 

Define the ip-address for the native vlan 408

 

Define the RVI vlan 408

Define the other vlan vlan100

 

If you are using ospf as routing-protocol configure the ospf

 

I hope this give you an overview how to solve your problem

 

Best regards

 

LA

Recognized Expert
Loup2
Posts: 301
Registered: ‎04-22-2008
0

Re: L2 tunnel in a L3 Network

Hi

 

This is simply routing and not what JEP wanted to achieve (L2 Tunneling over L3 public network) :smileywink:

Copyright© 1999-2013 Juniper Networks, Inc. All rights reserved.