Ethernet Switching
Reply
Visitor
cbryndal
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎11-27-2010
0

Layer3 Vlan Interface?

Hello,

 

I have three EX4500's trunked together.

I've extended VLAN 254 to all three switches and verified it is passing traffic.

 

I'd like to have a Layer 3 interface in each switch that resides in VLAN 254 so we can remotely manage the swtiches.

I do not wanto that interface to route traffic to any other VLANs, but just provide an IP address that a host sitting in VLAN254 at one location can telnet/ssh to the Layer 3 address on the remote switches for management.

 

Could anyone please provide an example of such configuration.

 

Thanks in Advance!

 

Corey..

Distinguished Expert
Screenie
Posts: 1,080
Registered: ‎01-10-2008
0

Re: Layer3 Vlan Interface?

So configure the vlan, reference a L3 interface.

Configure the L3 interface.

Create a managment routing instance (type virtual router) place the RVI in this routing instance.

 

All routing to this management RVI now is isolated from all other routing on the device. I don't have access to a switch at the moment, so creating the actual syntax is a bit hard.

 

 

 

best regards,

Screenie.
Juniper Ambassador,
JNCIA IDP AC WX JNCIS FW SSL JNCIP SEC ENT SP JNCI

If this worked for you please flag my post as an "Accepted Solution" so others can benefit. A kudo would be cool if you think I earned it.
Distinguished Expert
Screenie
Posts: 1,080
Registered: ‎01-10-2008
0

Re: Layer3 Vlan Interface?

[ Edited ]

Got access to my switch now. Config example:

 

Vlan definition:

 

root@EX-SRX-labs# show vlans
management {
    vlan-id 254;
    l3-interface vlan.254;
}

 

L3 Interface:

 

root@EX-SRX-labs# show interfaces vlan
unit 254 {
    family inet {
        address 192.168.1.250/24;
    }
}

 

To seperate in a "own" routing table:

 

root@EX-SRX-labs# show routing-instances
management {
    instance-type virtual-router;
    interface vlan.254;
}

 

Accept for the IP address (duh) you can configure this on all three switches. Should work I think.

 

in  "set commands":

 

set vlans management vlan-id 254
set vlans management l3-interface vlan.254


set interfaces vlan unit 254 family inet address 192.168.1.250/24

 

set routing-instances management instance-type virtual-router
set routing-instances management interface vlan.254

 

 

 

 

 

best regards,

Screenie.
Juniper Ambassador,
JNCIA IDP AC WX JNCIS FW SSL JNCIP SEC ENT SP JNCI

If this worked for you please flag my post as an "Accepted Solution" so others can benefit. A kudo would be cool if you think I earned it.
Visitor
cbryndal
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎11-27-2010
0

Re: Layer3 Vlan Interface?

Screenie,

 

Thanks!  That is hugely helpful.

 

Ok, so I've placed all of the set cmds, and verified the configuration, but I still don't have pings between the switches.

 

EX4500-#1  (192.168.254.12)

     |

     |

  trunk  (includes vlan 254 on both ports)

     |

     |

EX4500-#2 (192.168.254.11)

 

I get a response of:

 

ping:  sendto: Can't assign requested address

ping:  sendto: Can't assign requested address

ping:  sendto: Can't assign requested address

 

Am I missing something?

 

CB.

Distinguished Expert
Screenie
Posts: 1,080
Registered: ‎01-10-2008
0

Re: Layer3 Vlan Interface?

That's because I forgot to tell you to use the routinging instance or RVI as source.

 

Like this:  ping IP interface vlan.254

 

same goes for telnets etc.

 

Sorry, should have thought about that!

best regards,

Screenie.
Juniper Ambassador,
JNCIA IDP AC WX JNCIS FW SSL JNCIP SEC ENT SP JNCI

If this worked for you please flag my post as an "Accepted Solution" so others can benefit. A kudo would be cool if you think I earned it.
Visitor
cbryndal
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎11-27-2010
0

Re: Layer3 Vlan Interface?

Ahh, got it.  No worries.

I'm on the road for a few hours, and will have remote access when I arrive.

 

Will verify.

 

Thanks again!

 

CB.

Copyright© 1999-2013 Juniper Networks, Inc. All rights reserved.