Ethernet Switching
Reply
rp
Contributor
rp
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎08-12-2009
0
Accepted Solution

MAC machines and juniper switches

Hi,

 

Is there any special configuration required in juniper switches to have MAC machines to communicate each other. The issue is that the guy who supporting MAC machine complaints that the MAC clients can not see the services configured between them. Could someone help me with any advice. These clients are distributed across different juniper switches.

 

Thanks

Trusted Contributor
dscott
Posts: 122
Registered: ‎03-17-2011
0

Re: MAC machines and juniper switches

Can you give more detail around what isn't working?  switching is switching, regardless of the client machine.  No special configuration is required on the network gear to support a Mac over any other architecture.

Dustin

VCP-4/5, JNCIS-SEC, JNCIP-ENT
rp
Contributor
rp
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎08-12-2009
0

Re: MAC machines and juniper switches

Hi,

 

Thanks for lokking in ti this. Clients are not seeing each other from MAC OS. I think they use multcast for service discovery (Zero configuration). They all in same vlan. In some switches igmp snooping is enabled.

 

 

Thanks

Trusted Contributor
dscott
Posts: 122
Registered: ‎03-17-2011
0

Re: MAC machines and juniper switches

What hardware and software version are you using?  I have a few mac's on my network, and haven't seen any issues, but I don't use zeroconf.  I have everything assigned via a DHCP server

Dustin

VCP-4/5, JNCIS-SEC, JNCIP-ENT
Trusted Contributor
BuckWeet
Posts: 159
Registered: ‎08-29-2008
0

Re: MAC machines and juniper switches

Do you have IGMP-SNOOPING enabled?  There was a bug with igmp-snooping previously  in the 10.x train (can't remember the exact code revision) that caused 224.0.0.x/24 igmp groups to not be flooded as they should be.

 

If its enabled, try disabling igmp-snooping "deactivate protocols igmp-snooping' and see if they helps out.

 

 

Copyright© 1999-2013 Juniper Networks, Inc. All rights reserved.