Ethernet Switching
Reply
Visitor
mateo
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎01-24-2011
0

Please clarify if Step 9 Has a Typo: Unit 0 Vice Unit 1, Thanks

It is not clear to me whether I should configure the second vlan in unit 1 though the second RVI is setup on unit 1. The instructions put both vlans in unit 0 but create two RVI one in unit 0 and unit 1. This is confusing. Is it correct or should the support vlan be in unit 1?

 

https://www.juniper.net/techpubs/en_US/junos10.4/topics/example/bridging-ex-series-connecting-access...

 

 

To configure the access switch:

  1. Configure the 1-Gigabit Ethernet interface on the uplink module to be the trunk port that connects to the distribution switch:

    [edit interfaces ge-0/1/0 unit 0]
    user@access-switch# set description “Uplink module port connection to distribution switch”
    user@access-switch# set ethernet-switching port-mode trunk
  2. Specify the VLANs to be aggregated on the trunk port:

    [edit interfaces ge-0/1/0 unit 0]
    user@access-switch# set ethernet-switching vlan members [ sales support ]
  3. Configure the VLAN ID to use for packets that are received with no dot1q tag (untagged packets):

    [edit interfaces ge-0/1/0 unit 0]
    user@access-switch# set ethernet-switching native-vlan-id 1
  4. Configure the sales VLAN:

    [edit vlans sales]
    user@access-switch# set vlan-description “Sales VLAN”
    user@access-switch# set vlan-id 100
    user@access-switch# set l3-interface vlan.0
  5. Configure the support VLAN:

    [edit vlans support]
    user@access-switch# set vlan-description “Support VLAN”
    user@access-switch# set vlan-id 200
    user@access-switch# set l3-interface vlan.1
  6. Create the subnet for the sales broadcast domain:

    [edit interfaces]
    user@access-switch# set vlan unit 0 family inet address 192.0.2.1/25
  7. Create the subnet for the support broadcast domain:

    [edit interfaces]
    user@access-switch# set vlan unit 1 family inet address 192.0.2.129/25
  8. Configure the interfaces in the sales VLAN:

    [edit interfaces]
    user@access-switch# set ge-0/0/0 unit 0 description “Sales wireless access point port”
    user@access-switch# set ge-0/0/0 unit 0 family ethernet-switching vlan members sales
    user@access-switch# set ge-0/0/3 unit 0 description “Sales phone port”
    user@access-switch# set ge-0/0/3 unit 0 family ethernet-switching vlan members sales
    user@access-switch# set ge-0/0/20 unit 0 description “Sales file server port”
    user@access—switch# set ge-0/0/20 unit 0 family ethernet-switching vlan members sales
    user@access-switch# set ge-0/0/22 unit 0 description “Sales printer port”
    user@access-switch# set ge-0/0/22 unit 0 family ethernet-switching vlan members sales
  9. Configure the interfaces in the support VLAN:

    [edit interfaces]
    user@access-switch# set ge-0/0/24 unit 0 description “Support wireless access point port”
    user@access-switch# set ge-0/0/24 unit 0 family ethernet-switching vlan members support
    user@access-switch# set ge-0/0/26 unit 0 description “Support phone port”
    user@access-switch# set ge-0/0/26 unit 0 family ethernet-switching vlan members support
    user@access-switch# set ge-0/0/44 unit 0 description “Support printer port”
    user@access-switch# set ge-0/0/44 unit 0 family ethernet-switching vlan members support
    user@access-switch# set ge-0/0/46 unit 0 description “Support file server port”
    user@access-switch# set ge-0/0/46 unit 0 family ethernet-switching vlan members support
  10. Configure descriptions and VLAN tag IDs for the sales and support VLANs:

    [edit vlans]
    user@access-switch# set sales vlan-description “Sales VLAN”
    user@access-switch# set sales vlan-id 100
    user@access-switch# set support vlan-description “Support VLAN”
    user@access-switch# set support vlan-id 200
  11. To route traffic between the sales and support VLANs and associate a Layer 3 interface with each VLAN:

    [edit vlans]
    user@access-switch# set sales l3-interface vlan.0
    user@access-switch# set support l3-interface vlan.1

Results

Display the results of the configuration:

Distinguished Expert
spuluka
Posts: 2,232
Registered: ‎03-30-2009
0

Re: Please clarify if Step 9 Has a Typo: Unit 0 Vice Unit 1, Thanks

There is NO typo, these instructions are correct.

 

Unit 0 is NOT a tag but simply the first sub-interface on any given interface.  These ports are access ports with a single untagged vlan assigned to the first available sub-interface on the port.

 

The tags in this example are 100 and 200 and they are assigned under the vlans hierarchy for use on tagged trunk ports.

Steve Puluka BSEET
Juniper Ambassador
Senior Network Engineer - UPMC Pittsburgh, PA
JNCIA-ER JNCIA-EX JNCIS-SEC JNCIP-SEC
JNCIS-FWV JNCIS-SSL
MCP - Managing Server 2003 MCP - Windows XP Professional
MCTS Windows 7
http://puluka.com/home
Visitor
mateo
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎01-24-2011
0

Re: Please clarify if Step 9 Has a Typo: Unit 0 Vice Unit 1, Thanks

Cool, thanks for the clarification.

Copyright© 1999-2013 Juniper Networks, Inc. All rights reserved.