Ethernet Switching
Reply
Contributor
ssuet
Posts: 101
Registered: ‎09-21-2010
0

VRRP with MSTP

i need to know how to integerate VRRP with MSTP lest say i have two core Switches  i need to make 1 core primary for specfic number of vlan and other core fot specific numbe of vlan

 

 

Thanks

Recognized Expert
JNPRdhanks
Posts: 302
Registered: ‎11-01-2010

Re: VRRP with MSTP

[ Edited ]

core switch 1 mstp config example:

 

 

    mstp {
        configuration-name test.com;
        revision-level 1;
        bridge-priority 8k;
        msti 1 {
            bridge-priority 8k;
            vlan 1-499;
        }
        msti 2 {
            bridge-priority 8k;
            vlan 500-999;
        }
        msti 3 {
            bridge-priority 8k;
            vlan 1000-1499;
        }
        msti 4 {
            bridge-priority 8k;
            vlan 1500-1999;
        }
        msti 5 {
            bridge-priority 16k;
            vlan 2000-2499;
        }
        msti 6 {
            bridge-priority 16k;
            vlan 2500-2999;
        }
        msti 7 {
            bridge-priority 16k;
            vlan 3000-3499;
        }
        msti 8 {
            bridge-priority 16k;
            vlan 3500-3999;
        }
        bpdu-block-on-edge;
    }

 

 

core switch 2 mstp example config:

 

 

    mstp {
        configuration-name test.com;
        revision-level 1;
        bridge-priority 16k;
        msti 1 {
            bridge-priority 16k;
            vlan 1-499;
        }
        msti 2 {
            bridge-priority 16k;
            vlan 500-999;
        }
        msti 3 {
            bridge-priority 16k;
            vlan 1000-1499;
        }
        msti 4 {
            bridge-priority 16k;
            vlan 1500-1999;
        }
        msti 5 {
            bridge-priority 8k;
            vlan 2000-2499;
        }
        msti 6 {
            bridge-priority 8k;
            vlan 2500-2999;
        }
        msti 7 {
            bridge-priority 8k;
            vlan 3000-3499;
        }
        msti 8 {
            bridge-priority 8k;
            vlan 3500-3999;
        }
        bpdu-block-on-edge;
    }

 

core switch 1 vrrp example configuration:

 

 

interfaces {
    vlan {
        unit 100 {
            family inet {
                address 192.168.100.2/24 {
                    vrrp-group 100 {
                        virtual-address 192.168.100.1; 
                        priority 254;
                    }
                }
            }
        }
        unit 2000 {
            family inet {
                address 192.168.200.2/24 {
                    vrrp-group 200 {
                        virtual-address 192.168.200.1; 
                    }
                }
            }
        }
    }
}

 

 

core switch 2 vrrp example configuration:

 

 

interfaces {
    vlan {
        unit 100 {
            family inet {
                address 192.168.100.3/24 {
                    vrrp-group 100 {
                        virtual-address 192.168.100.1; 
                    }
                }
            }
        }
        unit 2000 {
            family inet {
                address 192.168.200.3/24 {
                    vrrp-group 200 {
                        virtual-address 192.168.200.1; 
                        priority 254;
                    }
                }
            }
        }
    }
}

 

 

 

 

Doug Hanks
JNCIE-ENT #213, JNCIE-SP #875

Follow me on Twitter @douglashanksjr
Trusted Contributor
kronicklez
Posts: 485
Registered: ‎08-10-2010
0

Re: VRRP with MSTP

Hi hanks,

 

 

What the effect if in VRRP command i put one priority 254 n 253.  Refer to your statemnet just put the priority ti master 254. How about if the secondary we still put priroty? Is there any effect?

Recognized Expert
JNPRdhanks
Posts: 302
Registered: ‎11-01-2010
0

Re: VRRP with MSTP

[ Edited ]

The default VRRP priority is 100 and the higher priority always wins.  If you hard code a priority on the secondary node, just make sure it's lower than the node you want to be the primary.

Doug Hanks
JNCIE-ENT #213, JNCIE-SP #875

Follow me on Twitter @douglashanksjr
Trusted Contributor
kronicklez
Posts: 485
Registered: ‎08-10-2010
0

Re: VRRP with MSTP

Hi Hanks,

 

 

How we want to make sure our MSTP functioning correctly or not? What command should we use? For example i use command "Show ethernet switching interface" at access switch n see just one link will be active but second link will be block. Need your confimation. Thanks..

Copyright© 1999-2013 Juniper Networks, Inc. All rights reserved.