Identity and Policy Control
Reply
New User
jrosaly
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎08-17-2011
0

IC6500 How to add an AD sever, having issues.

I keep on trying this and it fails, I know the account im using has full admin priviledges, I have created the computer name and know the ip addresses are right, the only one I'm having doubts about is the container name under advance, what should I put there? In what format? and where do I find this info in AD? thanks for your help in advance.

Recognized Expert
Raveen
Posts: 390
Registered: ‎04-15-2010
0

Re: IC6500 How to add an AD sever, having issues.

Typically the container name would be 'Computers'. If you have configured AD to store machine name in different container , you will have to key in the right container in C.

 

In AD (for Win2k3 machine) , you should navigate the below path,

 

Control Panel --> Administrative tools --> Active Directory Users and Computers --> Expand Configured Domain name

 

You should also check the following,

 

1. If the time is in sync at both AD and IC.

2. If netbios name of DC is rightly configured in IC.

 

Regards,

Raveen

Note: If this answers your question, you could mark this post as accepted solution, that way it helps others as well. Kudos will be cool if I earned it!
Juniper Employee
Rabbit
Posts: 33
Registered: ‎01-27-2010
0

Re: IC6500 How to add an AD sever, having issues.

Just a couple of clarifications to make on Raveen's comment:

 

Assuming that you are not using Server 2008R2, please see the details below:

 

The AD Auth Server must be configured with the NETBIOS domain name of the network, this can be found by browsing to:

Control Panel --> Administrative tools --> Active Directory Users and Computers --> Right click on the Domain Name at the top of the tree and select Properties.  The value in the field for Domain Name {pre-windows 2000) is what you should enter in your Auth Server.

 

Do not be concerned if the "Test" button returns an error, as long as the rest of your configuration is sound, this will work for you.

 

The defaults which are used for the AD server are typically all that is needed for a user authentication to be processed correctly.  If you are still having trouble after following these instructions I suggest opening a JTAC Case for further assistance.

 

 

 

Regards,

Rich

Contributor
kamran_shakil
Posts: 84
Registered: ‎08-07-2011
0

Re: IC6500 How to add an AD sever, having issues.

What if i have container WORKSTATIONS  and inside it there are machines and also there are sub-containers !!!! Please let me know about this as well !

 

 

waiting for comments.

 

I have windows 2008 R2 server ! and running IC 4500 4.0r4

Juniper Employee
Rabbit
Posts: 33
Registered: ‎01-27-2010
0

Re: IC6500 How to add an AD sever, having issues.

Since you are using 2008R2, you will not be able to perform "Machine Authentication" as per our PSN: http://www.juniper.net/alerts/viewalert.jsp?actionBtn=Search&txtAlertNumber=PSN-2010-09-936&viewMode...

 

The only workaround is to use a static username and password for the machine auth, or a certificate in order to authenticate the machine accounts.  You can also contact your account representative to see if there are any other options available to you and your organization.

 

 

Regards,

Rich

 

 

Recognized Expert
Raveen
Posts: 390
Registered: ‎04-15-2010
0

Re: IC6500 How to add an AD sever, having issues.

IC version 4.2R1 is officially available for download at Juiper support page.

 

http://www.juniper.net/support/products/uac/4.2/#sw

 

Regards,

Raveen

Note: If this answers your question, you could mark this post as accepted solution, that way it helps others as well. Kudos will be cool if I earned it!
Copyright© 1999-2013 Juniper Networks, Inc. All rights reserved.