Industry Solutions and Trends
Technology is more than just networking and Juniper experts share their views on all the trends affecting IT
npound

Trust Me, I’m a Doctor – Should We Accept the Occasional Data Breach by the Public Sector?

by Juniper Employee on ‎09-02-2011 03:49 AM

Are you one of the nine million people who don’t trust their family doctor? According to a YouGov poll1, the level of trust in doctors in the United Kingdom has declined by eight percentage points since early 2003. Others, such as the police, school teachers, and civil servants fare even worse. Are we generally becoming a less trusting nation? And how does this affect our confidence in the public sector’s ability to protect the personal information it holds on us?

In my blog, Digital by Default, I identified trust as a key issue for the public sector as it tries to move more public services online. David Rennie - on the Government Digital Services blog site - acknowledges it’s a complex issue that’s as much about winning the hearts of people as it is about winning their minds. I think he’s right. In fact, as the majority of citizens don’t want to understand more than a basic level of cyber-security I’d say it’s all about winning the hearts of our people. But hearts are fickle things and I wonder if we are guilty of double standards where trust is concerned?