Junos OS

last person joined: 2 days ago 

Ask questions and share experiences about Junos OS.
  • 1.  Homelab with Juniper SRX100 and SSG20

Posted 02-22-2013 07:14

Hi All,

I apologise if this information is already there  in the forum.

I am new to Juniper platform ,and  would like to get my hands on junos and screenos.

I have bought an SSG20 from ebay to to start with a home lab and trying to get an SRX series router , but none of them were cheap in ebay so I  checked with a reseller.Surprisingly the price of a new SRX 100 was nearly equal to the ebay price. I have got few doubts which I would like to get cleared  befor making any purchase.

1) Can I learn Junos with an SRX 100 ? In some forums I read like its not running real Junos and its like a combination of Junos and ScreenOS . I have plans to buy just one more device (I already bought an SSG 20 to have screenOS ) . So do you think its worth to buy SRX 100 or  should I go for any used J series or M series  ?

2) 55$ is the cost  for1 Year Juniper care ? Do I really need  the juniper care support  to download the image or updates ?

My target is to acquire the knowledge in an associate level only . I decided to limit with 2 junipers as I already have few cisco devices  which can be used in the lab along with junipers. Let me know if you think that more Juniper devices are needed to acquire a decent knowledge of Junos/Screenos.

Regards,

Tom

• 2.  RE: Homelab with Juniper SRX100 and SSG20
    Best Answer

Posted 02-22-2013 07:54

The SRX100 runs real Junos - there is no difference from an operating system between any of the branch SRX devices. The 100 is very limited in terms of interfaces - IE - it only has 8 10/100 ports on it with no ability to add in a PIM card.

But if you get the high memory version it will run UTM, IDP, AppSecure and you can get 30 day trial licenses for them.