Junos
Reply
Visitor
Aurel Guidi
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎09-29-2010
0

Juniper<->Cisco OC3/STM1 link not coming up

Hi all,

I have a juniper card newly bought (An STM1 OC3 card) that i insert into my router. An MSeries (The M10i exactely).
After having pluged it into the router the interface is well listed in the configuration file.
But i fail bringing it up when connected to a cisco POS (also STM1 OC3) interface.

 

Here is the configuration made on my Juniper interface

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

encapsulation cisco-hdlc;
sonet-options {
    fcs 16;
    no-payload-scrambler;
}
unit 0 {
    family inet {
        address 192.168.1.1/30;
    }
}
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

                and here is the configuration of the cisco interface connected to it.

 

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

POS1/1 is up, line protocol is down
  Hardware is Packet over Sonet
  Description: "Link to the Juniper so interface"
  Internet address is 192.168.1.2/30
  MTU 4470 bytes, BW 155000 Kbit, DLY 100 usec,
     reliability 255/255, txload 1/255, rxload 1/255
  Encapsulation HDLC, crc 16, loopback not set
  Keepalive set (10 sec)
  Scramble disabled
  Last input never, output never, output hang never
  Last clearing of "show interface" counters never
  Input queue: 0/75/0/0 (size/max/drops/flushes); Total output drops: 0
  Queueing strategy: fifo
  Output queue: 0/40 (size/max)
  5 minute input rate 0 bits/sec, 0 packets/sec
  5 minute output rate 0 bits/sec, 0 packets/sec
     0 packets input, 0 bytes, 0 no buffer
     Received 0 broadcasts, 0 runts, 0 giants, 0 throttles
              0 parity
     0 input errors, 0 CRC, 0 frame, 0 overrun, 0 ignored, 1 abort
     9156 packets output, 220623 bytes, 0 underruns
     0 output errors, 0 applique, 3 interface resets
     0 output buffer failures, 0 output buffers swapped out
     0 carrier transitions

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

Is there someone that could help me to know why is the link not comming up ?

Thank u for ur attention on my topic
Regards,

Aurel.

Trusted Contributor
Gniewko
Posts: 67
Registered: ‎04-14-2008
0

Re: Juniper<->Cisco OC3/STM1 link not coming up

Hi,

 

If i got you right, the interface is physically up.

Try to configure it like this:

 

encapsulation cisco-hdlc;
sonet-options {
    rfc-2615
}
unit 0 {
    family inet {
        address 192.168.1.1/30;
    }
}

 

It automatically sets scrambling to on, crc to 32bits and c2 byte to value of 16.

 

Thanks,

Visitor
Aurel Guidi
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎09-29-2010
0

Re: Juniper<->Cisco OC3/STM1 link not coming up

Okay, thank u a lot.

I was expecting the any answer would be sent to my rss client. But defnitly no.

I had already solved this problem.

It is just now that i read ur answer.

It was the STM1 module that i was using that had a problem. 

So automatcally when we changed it the links comes up.

 

kind regards.

Copyright© 1999-2013 Juniper Networks, Inc. All rights reserved.