Junos
Reply
Visitor
alexart
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎06-17-2008
0

Policer in JunOS-ES no work correctly

Hello! 
I’m trying configure rate limiting for transit traffic on the J6350 with JunOS-ES. 
Scheme of my test region and configuration file are attached. 
In “transit traffic” I mind traffic from network 2.0.0.0/24 to 5.5.5.0/24. 
This traffic are not correctly rate limiting. 
What I configure incorrect? Or is this a JunOS-ES bug? 
If I connect PC1 with IP 7.7.7.2/24 directly to ge-0/0/3 (except L3 switch) all policers 
and filters work correctly. 
Distinguished Expert
rkim
Posts: 755
Registered: ‎11-06-2007
0

Re: Policer in JunOS-ES no work correctly

By not correctly rate limiting, exactly what do you mean by that? Also how do you have your policer and firewall filters configured? Given that PC on 7.7.7.x network gets policed correctly, that implies that policers work properly for that subnet (as opposed to traffic from L3 switch). Could it be that your policer did not include 2.x.x.x network?

 

-Richard

Visitor
alexart
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎06-17-2008
0

Re: Policer in JunOS-ES no work correctly

Hello! Thanks for your help.

Sorry, I made bad description of my issue. I have forgotten to attach configuration.

Also i've attached conf.file to this post. 

 

 

 

 admin@j6350-dl# run show firewall

 

Filter: FILTER

Policers:

Name                                              Packets

POLICER-IN-TERM-IN                                   7928

POLICER-OUT-TERM-OUT                                72694

 

Filter: __default_bpdu_filter__

 
Counters not changed during traffic flow.
Real bandwidth no change after I change corresponding value in policer.

Distinguished Expert
rkim
Posts: 755
Registered: ‎11-06-2007
0

Re: Policer in JunOS-ES no work correctly

Can you confirm what IP your traffic is from? Reason I ask is in your routing-options, I see you have static route for 2.0.0.0/8. But your firewall filter terms are for 2.0.0.0/24. Can you verify you meant /24 and not /8?

 

-Richard

Visitor
alexart
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎06-17-2008
0

Re: Policer in JunOS-ES no work correctly

Hello, Richard!!

Thanks a lot for your attention to my trouble!!

Yes, my test PC was in /24 network. 

 

 This issue solved.

In this test region no latest version of JunOS-ES was installed.   

I have upgraded JunOS-ES to Release [9.4R1.8] and this issue was solved.

 

But in production network corresponding  trouble not solved yet. Now I do not know why.

Because we configuring all filters and polisers exactly as in this test region, but policing no work.

So I need some time for detailed research, and  describe this issue in production network.

 

I hope, you do not  abandon me in this trouble :-)  Thanks!! 

Copyright© 1999-2013 Juniper Networks, Inc. All rights reserved.