Junos
Reply
Regular Visitor
Mickey
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎03-31-2008
0
Accepted Solution

connecting J-series to cisco frame relay switch

Hi,

 

We are trying to connect several j-series 2350 to a FR cloud with the use of the following cables:

 

*juniper DTE-DCE RS-232

*cisco DTE-DCE DB-60

 

the Cisco cable is working fine B-toB on the FR switch but we missing some modem signals as follows:

 

FR serial 1/0  - >juniper DCE-DTE RS-232 <- juniper serial se-1/0/0

 

Cisco:smileyfrustrated:erial1/0 is down, line protocol is down
DCD=down  DSR=down  DTR=down  RTS=down  CTS=down

Juniper: Physical interface: se-1/0/0, Enabled, Physical link is Down
Control signals:
     Local mode: DTE
     To DCE: DTR: up, RTS: up
     From DCE: CTS: down, DCD: down, DSR: down

 

FR serial 1/2  - >cisco db-60 DCE-DTE  <- juniper serial se-1/0/0

 

Cisco: Serial1/2 is down, line protocol is down
 DCD=up  DSR=up  DTR=down  RTS=down  CTS=up

Juniper:smileytongue:hysical interface: se-1/0/0, Enabled, Physical link is Down
   Control signals:
     Local mode: DCE      <---  strange DTE is on Juniper side and it is reporting DCE ???

     To DTE: CTS: down, DCD: down, DSR: up
     From DTE: DTR: down, RTS: down

 

 

The question is now what is a good cable to connect a cisco serial to a juniper J-series serial ? Or what is the correct pin layout for it the become active? Or can you activate with CLI commands on the Juniper router the missing/missed serial modem signals other than 'ignore-all"  ?

 

 

Thanks in advance,

 

Mickey.

Distinguished Expert
aarseniev
Posts: 1,677
Registered: ‎08-21-2009
0

Re: connecting J-series to cisco frame relay switch

I assume you are trying to connect Cisco _ROUTER_ acting as FR switch to a J2350 router, is that correct?

In that case:

1/ have you connected RS232 DCE cable end to Cisco router and RS232 DTE cable end to J2350?

2/ have you configured "clock-rate" on Cisco Serial interface to act as DCE?

Rgds

Alex

___________________________________
Accept as Solution = cool !
Accept as Solution+Kudo = You are a Star !
Regular Visitor
Mickey
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎03-31-2008
0

Re: connecting J-series to cisco frame relay switch

Hi, "/ have you connected RS232 DCE cable end to Cisco router and RS232 DTE cable end to J2350? " ->that is correct, the DCE site , is also the side where the clock is provided . even configured with PPP / cisco HDLC we still missing modem signals (DCD, etc), Juniper cable works well with Juniper back-2-back, cisco cable works well with cisco back-2-back . But Cisco to juniper with either cisco cale or juniper cable won't work at all. I'm now in the state of connection breakout box the the rs-232 to find out where the mixup is in the cable.
Regular Visitor
Mickey
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎03-31-2008
0

Re: connecting J-series to cisco frame relay switch

The Solution is simple ,

just use on the Cisco side a Cisco cable (eg rs232-DCE) and use on the Juniper side a Juniper cable (rs232-DTE)

that will work, apparently DB-60 pin layout can be vendor specific.

Copyright© 1999-2013 Juniper Networks, Inc. All rights reserved.