Junos OS

last person joined: 21 hours ago 

Ask questions and share experiences about Junos OS.
  • 1.  help me to understand "show configuration | rollback 1"

Posted 02-18-2013 05:39

hello, im new to JUNOS, have simple questions.

"interfaces ge-2/1/1 unit 764]"

i change the interface description from "test1" to "test2" and made a commit.

and when i'm looking at this command: show | compare rollback 1 

i got this result:

[edit interfaces ge-2/1/1 unit 764]
    -    description "test1";
    +    description "test2"

I think that the minus - plus signs ordered should've been vice versa...?

it says that in rollback 1 there was no "TEST1" description, and sign plus says that rollback 1 file have "test2" description.

• 2.  RE: help me to understand "show configuration | rollback 1"

Posted 02-18-2013 08:44

The result is correct. You are comparing your current (post commit) config to the rollback 1 config. The current config had the test1 description removed (hence the "-") and the test2 description added to it (hence the "+") 

The compare is being shown relative to the current config, not relative to the rollback 1.

• 3.  RE: help me to understand "show configuration | rollback 1"

Posted 02-18-2013 14:00

thanks for input...

but why the command "show | compare" before the commit shows exatcly the same...

if we seek your explanation then "show | compare" should have dispayed the "minus-plus" vice versa? cause we looking into active and candidate configuration.. and active configuration still didn't have the test2 description commited...

• 4.  RE: help me to understand "show configuration | rollback 1"

Posted 02-18-2013 15:13

"# show | compare" before the commit should show the same as "> show configuration | compare rollback 1" after the commit.

Why? "# show | compare" compares the candidate configuration with the currently active configuration.