Management
Visitor
scole

Cannot import devices to NSM 2011.4s1

I am having an issue importing SRX210 devices into NSM.  I was previously running 2011.1 and was importing NSM 10.4R4.5 devices. I keep getting the error:

"We are unable to parse a useable OS version from this device"

I updated the schema to the 226 version. That did not help either. I also have SRX210 at the 11.1R3,5 version and its the same thing,. I then decided to upgrade the NSM to the 2011.4s1 version and updated the schema to the 228. I am still getting the error.

There are few devices existing on the NSM before it was handed over to me and those are being managed but i cannot import anything else. I also want to upgrade the OS on the existing ones but I am afraid to so.

I am new to NSM and Juniper, so ANY IDEA or suggestion would be appreciated. PLEASE.

Thank you.

Recognized Expert
ronf

Re: Cannot import devices to NSM 2011.4s1

I would double check the "host-inbound-traffic" settings for the interface that the NSM appliance is hitting the firewall on.  I suspect the issue is a communications one, not a version match issue as those versions should be supported in the current schema.  I would also make sure that your schema is actually the current running one, as the upgrade process is a little clunky and requires two steps (the download and then the activation).

Ron

JNCIE-SEC #127
JNCIE-ENT #489
Trusted Contributor
SomeITGuy

Check the NSM manual for JUNOS devices... you need to enable SSH 2 and the managment service before you can import the device.

Trusted Contributor
SomeITGuy

How to prepare Junos device for NSM connectivity

http://kb.juniper.net/InfoCenter/index?page=content&id=KB16246

Trusted Contributor
markpr

[ Edited ]

We managed to reproduce this problem. It seems another variation on the symptoms seen when the client has not successfully downloaded the schema from the NSM server.