Security

last person joined: 8 days ago 

Ask questions and share experiences with Juniper Connected Security. Discuss Advanced Threat Protection, SecIntel, Secure Analytics, Secure Connect, Security Director, and all things related to Juniper security technologies.
  • 1.  Connection to Management Server Lost

Posted 11-12-2008 06:20

Hello,

I've just installed NSM2007 and have successfully connected an IDP-75, I've been looking through the logs to familiarize myself with the capabilities, but while researching I get the "Connection to Management Server Lost" message, is there a timeout value that I need to increase ?

Thanks, as you can see I'm very new to this product.

• 2.  RE: Connection to Management Server Lost

Posted 11-12-2008 06:25

Hi Situs,

you mean your gui client connection timed out closing the client down ?

If so go to Tools --> preferences

From there go into system properties then Performance options.

There you can change the timeout before getting disconnected or disable it all together.

Kind regards

Colin

• 3.  RE: Connection to Management Server Lost

Posted 11-12-2008 06:39
    Yes it was when in the client side, I looked at the settings and the value was set to 45 minutes. I was disconnected shortly after I navigated to this option screen with the same error message, I must have something else wrong ?

• 4.  RE: Connection to Management Server Lost

Posted 11-12-2008 06:58

Hi Situs,

is there something inbetween the nsm server and the client that could be interfering with the connection ?

You need port 7801 open to the nsm server as this is used for SSP comms between the client and guiSvrManager process.

Kind regards

Colin

• 5.  RE: Connection to Management Server Lost

Posted 11-12-2008 08:30

Hi Colin,

There is a PIX, but 7801 is enabled on that device, what's strange is that the UI loaded on the server does the same thing, not just the UI I've loaded on my Windows workstation.

• 6.  RE: Connection to Management Server Lost