Security

last person joined: 2 days ago 

Ask questions and share experiences with Juniper Connected Security. Discuss Advanced Threat Protection, SecIntel, Secure Analytics, Secure Connect, Security Director, and all things related to Juniper security technologies.
  • 1.  Multiple SRX configuration modifications

Posted 02-12-2014 03:51

Hello everybody.

Actually, I'm new in Junospace, and I've recently installed Junospace 13.1, and now trying to find out how it helps me with my daily routines.

The major one is configuration modifications on couple hundreds SRXs. So the question is what is the best way to do this or so to say the best practise. 

At this stage I have two options which are configlets and commit scripts. What's the best. All modifications are thoroughly based on information  inside individual devices, such as IP addresses, hence there is no input date in scripts.

Thank you in advance.

Regards,

Vyacheslav.

• 2.  RE: Multiple SRX configuration modifications
    Best Answer

Posted 03-12-2014 04:37

Hi Vyacheslav,

I have been toying around with Device Templates, CLI configlets and commit/local scripts in Space quite often. I have found that CLI configlets just aren't there yet for doing a lot of configuration.

For what you are specifically looking at doing (configuring devices based on information already there), then there is a way that CLI configlets could help. You'd have to go about it over a couple of steps:

• Create an Xpath (or Regex) search context which would basically look for the information in each device that you are trying to make the changes around.
    • You can then reference that search context by creating a parameter for the values you want once you create your CLI configlet.