Management
Reply
Visitor
Nador
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎04-15-2009
0

STRM 500 web interface unreachable

I an testing an STRM500. It worked. Then I've moved it into another network so I'd changed the IP address.

Since the STRM500 unreachable via web interface.

1. In the boot process the tomcat start (loads) extremely slow. (10 minutes). During this in the tomcat.log appears the next message:

 

Tue Apr 14 13:16:22 CEST 2009: PROCESS = ''
Tue Apr 14 13:16:22 CEST 2009: "/etc/init.d/tomcat status" exit 3
Tue Apr 14 13:16:22 CEST 2009: nohup su nobody -s /bin/sh -c '/opt/tomcat5/bin/catalina.sh start'

 

Then this message is repeated approx. secondly:

Tue Apr 14 13:16:22 CEST 2009: NOT FOUND YET

 

2. The browser able to connect, I mean the authentication works, but the console not appear.

3. The STRM500 seems work well every process is running.

4. Another detail from tomcat.log:

 

tcp        0      0 :::7677                     :::*                        LISTEN      2666/java          
tcp        0      0 ::ffff:127.0.0.1:8009       ::ffff:127.0.0.1:44665      ESTABLISHED 3098/java          
tcp        0      0 ::ffff:10.2.2.3:7779        ::ffff:10.2.2.3:49514       ESTABLISHED 3098/java          
tcp        0      0 ::ffff:10.2.2.3:49514       ::ffff:10.2.2.3:7779        ESTABLISHED 3098/java          
udp        0      0 0.0.0.0:10000               0.0.0.0:*                               9826/perl          
udp        0      0 0.0.0.0:37                  0.0.0.0:*                               2198/xinetd        
udp        0      0 10.2.2.3:33206              172.27.13.254:514           ESTABLISHED 2007/syslog-ng     

It is interesting (?) beceause of the new IP address is 10.2.2.3 and the old one is 172.27.13.254. Why remember to the old IP address?

 

What's wrong?

Trusted Contributor
omarg
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎07-03-2008
0

Re: STRM 500 web interface unreachable

Hi Nador,

 

I reckon you changed the IP address by editing the

/etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/ifcfg-eth0

Or using ifconfig command.

 

This is something that you must never do in STRM as the original IP address is also included in some configuration files that havent not been changed (that is why you are still seeing the old IP address).

 

The correct way to change the IP address is documented in STRM guide: Changing_Network_Settings.pdf (pls see file attached).

 

To resolve this, I'd suggest to put back the original IP address first and follow the steps described in Changing_Network_Settings.pdf

Log in to the Console, as root & run qchange_netsetup.

 

If you need to know the original IP address that you configured at the begining, you can check it by executing this command as root:

# psql -U qradar -c "select * from managedhosts"

 

Hope this helps.

omarg

Visitor
Nador
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎04-15-2009
0

Re: STRM 500 web interface unreachable

I am totally sure I use the utility (named qchange_netsetup?).

I will try to put back to the former IP address...

 

Thank you.

 

Nador 

Trusted Contributor
omarg
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎07-03-2008

Re: STRM 500 web interface unreachable

Hi Nador,

You should be able to check what command you have previously used to change the IP address by typing
# history

If putting the old IP back & running the qchange_netsetup from the console does not help, I’m afraid you need to reinstall the STRM software and then configure the desired IP address.

To install & reinstall STRM software (If you are still running STRM 2008.2rX you can):

1. copy the STRM2008.2_r2.iso (you can get this from Juniper support page)

2. go to the STRM shell (console) as root and check the integrity of the ISO file:

# cd /tmp
# md5sum STRM2008.2_r2.iso
Make sure that the MD5 checksum is corre ( d8dfaf5e9defde3e2297d410190c3373 for STRM2008.2_r2.iso)

IMPORTANT: If the MD5 checksum is different please download again, it is *very* important that this checksum is the same.

3. mount the image:
# mount  -t iso9660 -o loop /tmp/STRM2008.2_r2.iso /media/cdrom/

(create /media/cdrom, it does not exist, # mkdir /media/cdrom)

4. remove the previous installation:
# cd /media/cdrom
# ./setup -u

Then reboot the box.

5. reinstall STRM again
# mount  -t iso9660 -o loop /tmp/STRM2008.2_r2.iso /media/cdrom/
# cd /media/cdrom
# ./setup

HTH
Omar
Visitor
Nador
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎04-15-2009
0

Re: STRM 500 web interface unreachable

Hi Omarg,

 

I 've changed back the old IP address then changed the new one and it seems work.

 

Thank you!

Copyright© 1999-2013 Juniper Networks, Inc. All rights reserved.