My Certification Journey
Share and learn from real life stories of those who are on the path to become Juniper Certified
door7302

My Experience of JNCIE-ENT: Hard prep for a hard exam

by David Roy (door7302) ‎06-26-2012 12:49 PM - edited ‎06-28-2012 05:31 AM

This is a guest blog post. Views expressed in this post are original thoughts posted by David Roy, IP/MPLS NOC Engineer at Orange. These views are his own and in no way do they represent the views of the company he works for.

My name is David Roy; I'm a NOC engineer at Orange France. I work every day with Juniper Networks routers like MX960 and T1600. I've already passed the JNCIE-SP track last year and my new challenge was to pass the enterprise track (aka. JNCIE-ENT). It was a complex challenge for me, because I work for a Service Provider and I had to play with protocols that I wouldn’t normally come across in our network (for example OSPF and PIMv6). 

I started my exam preparation two months ago. The first step was to find relevant working guides. I'd bought two awesome books: Junos Enterprise Routing and Junos Enterprise Switching. The day-one books were also nice guides to complete my readings. After the theoretical studying, I decided to create my own lab in order to play and test with all the skills required by the JNCIE blueprint. My lab was made up of two EX4200, one MX960 with logical systems and virtual switch instances and one SRX in packet mode. In parallel I bought the AJEX courseware in order to have some switching labs examples.