Pulse Secure formerly SSL VPN
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Contributor
Posts: 38
Registered: ‎09-15-2008
0 Kudos

6.5R1 Code - Any Issues in Production Yet?

I was wondering if anyone had the 6.5R1 code running in production yet.  If so, how is this code?  Is it running well or are you seeing issues with it?  6.5R1 seems to have a number of fixes I need, but I am leary of putting an R1 version of code on our production units. 

 

Thank you,

John

UFO
Visitor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-11-2008
0 Kudos

Re: 6.5R1 Code - Any Issues in Production Yet?

I'm wondering the same thing. The RDP Launcher and 64-bit WSAM support would help us out a lot. The last time we put on an R1 code, we had nothing but problems.
Trusted Contributor
Posts: 446
Registered: ‎05-05-2008
0 Kudos

Re: 6.5R1 Code - Any Issues in Production Yet?

I have a few days' experience with 6.5r1.  I cannot help you with 64bit questions as I only run XP/Vista32.   Tthe only issue I have seen is  rewrite differences (the app is Splunk) between 6.4r2 and 6.5r1.     Network Connect works fine (32bit), and they didn't break AD/LDAP/DHCP integration either....

 

I'm not ready to upgrade my customers beyond 6.4 yet.

Theodore E Van Iderstine
Stream Networks
+1 678 373 4200 x125
JNCIA-ER (expired), JNCIA-SSL (ditto)
Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎11-28-2007
0 Kudos

Re: 6.5R1 Code - Any Issues in Production Yet?

I've been having users testing it and first thing I ran into is users attempting to type in terminal server addresses in the Terminal Service launch bar that's just been added.

 

Have you found a way to remove it?

 

I am waiting on my Windows 7 and Vista 64 users to get back to me on their experience.

Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎11-28-2007
0 Kudos

Re: 6.5R1 Code - Any Issues in Production Yet?

Oh and the release notes for 6.5r1 states that WSAM can be launced from 64 bit browsers on a 64 bit machine only through Java Applet with 64 bit JRE installed....

 

 

Trusted Contributor
Posts: 446
Registered: ‎05-05-2008
0 Kudos

Re: 6.5R1 Code - Any Issues in Production Yet?

No, i haven't.  I think i know where the radio-button is to dis/enable it... but i haven't checked all of my roles to see if i inadvertently enabed it...else it doesnt obey the button????  I have downloaded the config XML, but havent found it there either.

 

 

I'm also getting the following error upon reaching max-session-timeout:

 

Application popup: HttpNAR: dsHostChecker.exe - Application Error : The exception unknown software exception (0x40000015) occurred in the application at location 0x6aba1a36.

 along with a C runtime error....    But this may be due to having a 4.x Cisco VPN client installed as well.      Also, I use the NC launcher, not a browswer connection. so your mileage may vary.

 

 

Theodore E Van Iderstine
Stream Networks
+1 678 373 4200 x125
JNCIA-ER (expired), JNCIA-SSL (ditto)
Highlighted
Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎11-28-2007
0 Kudos

Re: 6.5R1 Code - Any Issues in Production Yet?

I have looked everywhere for an option to disable it.  Guess I will have to be more thorough while reading the manual.

 

Sorry to hear about your other issue. Thankfully we have license for 250 users and only an average of 100 users.

Contributor
Posts: 113
Registered: ‎01-21-2008
0 Kudos

Re: 6.5R1 Code - Any Issues in Production Yet?

I loaded it to test the Exchange Activesync "Authorize Only" access.  This works great, and does header checking so that only Activesync traffic comes through.

 

I'm testing XenApp 5.0 and 5.1 next.

-=Dan=-
Contributor
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎02-27-2008
0 Kudos

Re: 6.5R1 Code - Any Issues in Production Yet?

We upgraded our testlab to 6.5 today and will test WSAM on 64-bits Vista one of the following days. I'll post the results.
New User
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎09-10-2009
0 Kudos

Re: 6.5R1 Code - Any Issues in Production Yet?

I recently updated my code to 6.5R1 on my lab box and JSAM automatically showed up as well as the terminal serve launcher. Anyone know how to disable yet?
Contributor
Posts: 113
Registered: ‎01-21-2008
0 Kudos

Re: 6.5R1 Code - Any Issues in Production Yet?

I've been testing the new Citrix Profile templates.  So far in testing the WI 5.1 template is working with both Mac Safari and Mac Firefox with Xen Desktop 5.1.  I'm going to try to test Citrix client delivery.  Not sure if it works with Mac or not.

 

One issue that has always occurred.   We use Network Connect with a ACL that limits it to the ICA ports instead of JSAM since is seems more robust.  For Xen Desktop role, we point the "Home Page" to the Citrix Xen Desktop web server to start this immediately.  However, the home page tries to load before the NC client is finished connecting, giving some error messages while trying to connect to Xen, and requiring you to click a link to manually connect to Xen.  It works but is not seamless.  There should be an option for the Home Page to wait until NC connects.

 

Finally, after NC connects on the Mac, the window stays open on top the the browser window.  You have to hit the "-" button to minimize it.  I'd sure like NC to automatically minimize after connecting the way it does in Windows.

 

--  Next...  Testing full VPN NC on Mac using user certificates, and Windows Xen 5.1 testing, and Citrix WI 4.6 testing under windows.

 

-=Dan=-

-=Dan=-
Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎11-28-2007
0 Kudos

Re: 6.5R1 Code - Any Issues in Production Yet?

[ Edited ]

The response from juniper support concerning the RDP Launcher was this:

 

The RDP launcher is a new feature introduced in 6.5R1 release code. It is enabled when you check the option to allow user to use Windows Terminal Service. If you are not using Windows Terminal Service feature under user role >> general, then please uncheck it and RDP launcher will be removed from user's bookmark page. If you are using Windows terminal Service feature, at present release it is not possible to remove it. I am working with development team if we can add a new option to allow admin to disable the RDP launcher at moment as I have seen several customer requsting the same.

 

Removal isn't an option if you want to use the windows terminal service feature...

Message Edited by abrown on 09-11-2009 07:06 AM
Trusted Contributor
Posts: 446
Registered: ‎05-05-2008
0 Kudos

Re: 6.5R1 Code - Any Issues in Production Yet?

Thanks for the update.

 

I would have expected it to be an option similar to the browser bar..... 

Theodore E Van Iderstine
Stream Networks
+1 678 373 4200 x125
JNCIA-ER (expired), JNCIA-SSL (ditto)
Trusted Contributor
Posts: 446
Registered: ‎05-05-2008
0 Kudos

Re: 6.5R1 Code - Any Issues in Production Yet?

After uninstalling all of the Juniper (NC, HC, CC, SM) apps,  the Cisco VPN client, and rebooting, this error still happens in at least these two scenarios.  1) you have connected to the URL  that requires hostchecker and cachecleaner to run prior to login AND you let the 'Perform check every' timer expire without successfully logging in. or 2) you log in normally and simply log out.
Theodore E Van Iderstine
Stream Networks
+1 678 373 4200 x125
JNCIA-ER (expired), JNCIA-SSL (ditto)
Trusted Contributor
Posts: 195
Registered: ‎07-06-2009
0 Kudos

Re: 6.5R1 Code - Any Issues in Production Yet?

[ Edited ]

i have been running it since it came out both on our test box and in production about a week after, it works perfectly in 64bit mode which is the reason we deploed it, i have tested it up to windows 7X64. 

 

a few things i did notice when switching from NC to WSAM

 

  1. once WSAM installs a reboot will be required due to a microsoft file that updates the ethernet connection.
  2. when you end your session in WSAM an error message pops up that says the connection timed out. ( this error has baffled some users and they have had to call in and open a ticket in order for them to be asked to click "ok")
  3. i have seen some machines no show "Network Connection Disconnected" when you end your session, the problem is the connection hasnt ended, only the juniper wsam connection but again the users are baffled.
Message Edited by SonicBoom on 09-14-2009 05:21 AM
Power On
http://vology.com
drf
Contributor
Posts: 46
Registered: ‎09-23-2008
0 Kudos

Re: 6.5R1 Code - Any Issues in Production Yet?

[ Edited ]

We had a small group of users test Network Connect 6.5 and 2 people said they were prompted to reboot their PC after NC installed. Then were asked to reboot again after rebooting the 1st time. I have never seen any reboot requirements before with NC. Has anyone else? We do not have GINA or TOS Bit enabled.

 

Also there is a new prompt that comes up asking you if you want to run the file neoNCSetup.exe. You can choose Always, Yes, or No. Not sure why Juniper added this. Seems to just confuse the end user even more.

Message Edited by drf on 09-16-2009 01:59 PM
Regular Visitor
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎04-27-2009
0 Kudos

Re: 6.5R1 Code - Any Issues in Production Yet?

We had a similar issue regarding some machines needing a reboot after installing the 6.5R1 Network Connect client.  It appeared that if the machine had a previous of Network Connect, a reboot wasn't required.

This was a big enough issue for our area that was rolling out the client that I opened a case with Juniper.  For our specific case, it appeared to be related to leaving on our current/old IPSEC client.  If we removed the old IPSEC client and did a fresh install (no previous versions) of Network Connect, then it wouldn't request the reboot.

Visitor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎10-06-2009

Re: 6.5R1 Code - Any Issues in Production Yet?

We've been running 6.5R1 for the past two weeks on a cluster of SA4000s and we've had quite a few client issues;

 

Norton 360  + WSAM = BSOD

Symantec Antivirus + WSAM = intermitent local DNS/WINS/NetBIOS name resoultion issues

ZoneAlarm + WSAM = No worky

 

Supposedly these issues are being addressed in 6.5R2 which is scheduled for release in November 2009. A workaround to these problems is to use JSAM or NC which appear to work fine in all of the above scenarios.

 

http://blog.michaelfmcnamara.com/2009/10/norton-360-and-juniper-ssl-vpn-wsam/

 

Cheers!