Pulse Secure formerly SSL VPN
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
New User
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎04-27-2011
0 Kudos

Re: Android Support

Hi,

 

Where's problem,  I see that they can:

 

http://www.androidpit.com/en/android/market/apps/app/com.sonicwall.netextender/NetExtender-Technolog...

 

but with root access, but it's not big deal.

 

Can You run it with root access to have network connect functionality?

 

Greetings

Pawel.

 

Moderator
Posts: 2,347
Registered: ‎11-19-2007
0 Kudos

Re: Android Support

You are correct that with root access it can be done; however, this is not a supported feature and requires a modified device in order to utilize the service. It is not expected that all users would know how, or desire to complete the activity, to root their devices.

 

To answer the other part of your question, no, L3 functionality is not available on a rooted Android through Junos Pulse.

Highlighted
Contributor
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎09-23-2010
0 Kudos

Re: Android Support

Juniper could make the Android client like Windows Mobile and have client/server connectivity with SAM, specifically JSAM for Android. This is the way Sonicwall does their Aventail client for Android. It works great.

Contributor
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎04-12-2011
0 Kudos

Re: Android Support

Interestingly there's an SSH tunnel application in the market which allows you to tunnel certain apps unrooted or the entire system (rooted) through the tunnel available in the market: http://lifehacker.com/5799888/ssh-tunnel-is-the-easiest-way-to-tunnel-on-your-android-device

 

It uses local-port mapping a-la JSAM. For now why not change the Junos Application to do this as well?

 

 

Contributor
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎07-07-2010
0 Kudos

Re: Android Support

[ Edited ]
The latest version of firmware on my Android tablet (Archos 101) supports OpenSSL VPN's. Interesting that they can get that to work but Juniper says they can't get their own SSL-VPN, which is build on OpenSSL, to do the same. EDIT: And no, my device is not rooted.
Juniper Select/Elite Enterprise Solutions Provider - Americas
JNCIA - JUNOS, SSL, IDP
JNCIS - SEC, SSL, ENT
Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎09-24-2010
0 Kudos

Re: Andorid Support

According to some recent posts on various forums (including a comment for Junos Pulse in the Android Market), L3 is now available in Junos Pulse for rooted users. I have not had an opportunity to test this yet. No it is not a solution for the typical users but would at least allow some of us to do some testing.

Visitor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎10-29-2010
0 Kudos

Re: Andorid Support

[ Edited ]

I now get prompted for root access when I start the application, but unfortunately still don't get an L3 tunnel (Droid 1). "Status" shows that VPN is "Disconnected" even though I can access the Intranet via the built-in browser.  I do have a rooted phone.

 

Bummer!

Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎09-24-2010
0 Kudos

Re: Andorid Support

Yeah, I just tried it on my rooted droid incredible and got the same thing. It asked me to allow root access then installed some vpn plugin and prompted me to reboot my phone. Following the reboot I am seeing the same thing as you. Ultimately RDP is what we are after.

Visitor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎10-29-2010
0 Kudos

Re: Andorid Support

Huh, I wasn't prompted to install a plugin.  I'll tinker with it again, but I'm guessing this is close but no cigar territory.

Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎09-24-2010
0 Kudos

Re: Andorid Support

It flashed quickly so it may be something yours had already done. 

Contributor
Posts: 21
Registered: ‎09-23-2010
0 Kudos

Re: Andorid Support

I can confirm L3 connectivity (tunnel) works on rooted phones. A bunch of us here that support Juniper's SSL VPN platform have rooted Android phones and it worked right away for us.

 

Also, I'm now able to install the Pulse client on Honeycomb (3.1) through the market, but my tablet isn't rooted, so no tunnel is started.

New User
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎04-27-2011
0 Kudos

Re: Andorid Support

i can confirm too, it;s working, but.. on mine is not configuring dns correctly, what means, dns suffix is not working, i have to type full path.

 

 

Visitor
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎08-17-2011
0 Kudos

Re: Andorid Support

Very interested in the settings you have on your Juniper for this to work. I have a rooted tablet with Pulse but am not getting handed an IP address from our VPN. It appears that all I am getting is the portal to our published directories and not a true VPN connection.

 

Did you have to change many settings in the Client Roles to get Pulse running properly?

 

Moderator
Posts: 2,347
Registered: ‎11-19-2007
0 Kudos

Re: Andorid Support

Do you have Network Connect configured for the role(s) you are logging in against? This is the configuration that provides the IP details.
New User
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎04-27-2011
0 Kudos

Re: Andorid Support

our server are configuring another IT people, it's configured like for laptops, and new version is getting to work same like pc network connect client.

 

 

Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎09-24-2010
0 Kudos

Re: Andorid Support

So have any of you been able to perform remote desktop? On our laptops/PC's we are using JSAM but this does not appear to work still.

Moderator
Posts: 2,347
Registered: ‎11-19-2007
0 Kudos

Re: Andorid Support

JSAM is only available for desktop OS; it is not available on the mobile devices.
Contributor
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎09-24-2010
0 Kudos

Re: Andorid Support

[ Edited ]

So there is still no way to remote desktop from an android device via SSL VPN?

Contributor
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎07-07-2010
0 Kudos

Re: Andorid Support


KBloomquist wrote:

JSAM aside, is there a way to remote desktop from an android device?


There are multiple RDP clients available on the Market. You just need an IP connection to the network where the server resides. Pulse isn't quite there yet it would seem. JSAM will most likely never be an option since Android doesn't support Java.
Juniper Select/Elite Enterprise Solutions Provider - Americas
JNCIA - JUNOS, SSL, IDP
JNCIS - SEC, SSL, ENT
New User
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎04-27-2011
0 Kudos

Re: Andorid Support

vnc works good.