Pulse Secure formerly SSL VPN
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
New User
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎06-16-2011
0

Juniper Setup Client

Does anybody know how can I get this software, other than the SSL VPN connection?

 

I have been trying to connect to a Juniper SSL VPN but all I see is the juniperclientsetup.exe running, but nothing happens I can't get connected.

 

Also let me know if I need to open ports for this purpose in my firewall.

 

Thanks in advance.

Distinguished Expert
Posts: 2,400
Registered: ‎01-29-2008
0

Re: Juniper Setup Client

I will make an assumption that you are running on a PC.

 

The basic SSL-VPN connection runs over port 443. If all you were doing was logging in and accessing web pages there would be no need for any "client" software. A download is needed for things like host check, network connect, JSAM, WSAM, Pulse.

 

If you can't download and install that software it is probably a PC rights issue. Admin capability is needed. The software is not generally available except through the SSL box, either by a download (not working for you) or through adminstrator access on the SSL box itself. There are install packages that can pulled off of the SSL box by the SSL administrator for your company.

 

Hope this explaination helps.

Kevin Barker
JNCIP-SEC
JNCIS-ENT, FWV, SSL, WLAN
JNCIA-ER, EX, IDP, UAC, WX
Juniper Networks Certified Instructor
Juniper Networks Ambassador

Juniper Elite Reseller
J-Partner Service Specialist - Implementation

If this worked for you please flag my post as an "Accepted Solution" so others can benefit. A kudo would be cool if you think I earned it.
New User
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎06-16-2011
0

Re: Juniper Setup Client

OK, the user has administrator rights, we don't have a block on port 443 so SSL is allowed, and the administrator of the site says they don't have the package, so where can I get this package from other than the VPN administrator?

 

Thanks,

Trusted Contributor
Posts: 446
Registered: ‎05-05-2008
0

Re: Juniper Setup Client

What browser are you using?  FF 3.6.16, when locked down, only allows files to be downloaded and saved, not executed, so if you need a copy of your JuniperSetupClient, just save it when prompted.

Theodore E Van Iderstine
Stream Networks
+1 678 373 4200 x125
JNCIA-ER (expired), JNCIA-SSL (ditto)
Moderator
Posts: 2,347
Registered: ‎11-19-2007
0

Re: Juniper Setup Client

There is no way to get a stand-alone installer for this software; it is dynamically pushed only.
If you are seeing this in task manager, it is running on your pc w/o an issue; what happens when you connect and try to launch the software component you are trying to use? JuniperSetupClient.exe is what is used to launch the connection components (e.g. Pulse, host checker, sam, network connect); it is NOT any type of connection itself. Other software is required for the actual connection
Moderator
Posts: 2,347
Registered: ‎11-19-2007
0

Re: Juniper Setup Client

ps....what are you trying to connect with (web only? Citrix? Network connect)?
Juniper Employee
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎02-20-2008
0

Re: Juniper Setup Client

You can also use the following URL to download the Juniper Setup Client directly from the device if the normal Web delivery method is not working.  

 

https://<SA-Host-Name>/dana-cached/sc/JuniperSetupClientInstaller.exe

 

 

Moderator
Posts: 2,347
Registered: ‎11-19-2007
0

Re: Juniper Setup Client

In addition to what kmaybe said, are you expecting to have a VPN tunnel established? There are sites that there is no tunnel but web only.
Were you able to successfully find the needed installers?
Contributor
Posts: 37
Registered: ‎02-26-2009
0

Re: Juniper Setup Client

Is this for remote download of the the Juniper installer service or something else?

 

 

Moderator
Posts: 2,347
Registered: ‎11-19-2007
0

Re: Juniper Setup Client

This is for installing the client that allows the other software to be launched.
Super Contributor
Posts: 353
Registered: ‎04-30-2010
0

Re: Juniper Setup Client

Which browser is this?

 

I have seen an issue where JuniperSetupClient.exe is flagged as missing, offered for download, you install it, and then it goes right back to being flagged as missing again. In my case, it was Firefox and an outdated version of Java. Firefox will disable old Java plugins, because they are so very unsafe. I resolved this by installing current Java (7u25 right now), and uninstalling all old copies of Java.

 

To see whether it's a browser issue, try it in IE. You can also try from a "fresh" user profile, to see whether it's profile-related, and you can try and uninstall everything Juniper (Network Connect, Host Checker, Pulse are the usual suspects) to see whether this is related to a corrupted install on the client machine.

 

Note that Chrome isn't supported by IVEOS. IE, Firefox and Safari are. The safe bet is to try IE first, always.