Pulse Secure formerly SSL VPN
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Super Contributor
Posts: 498
Registered: ‎03-29-2008
0

Set SSH/Telnet console colors?

Hi there,

 

is there a way to set the terminal window colors for SSH/Telnet sessions? This seems to be a requirement by one of my customers, but I want to avoid using NC/SAM.

 

Thanks

Twitter: @cryptochrome
--------------------------------
plus.google.com/11635909860
Trusted Contributor
Posts: 52
Registered: ‎11-30-2007
0

Re: Set SSH/Telnet console colors?

I am sorry, this is not currently possible.
Regards,

Christopher Howarth CISSP RHCE JNCIS-FWV JNCIA-WX/SSL
Regular Visitor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎01-08-2009
0

Re: Set SSH/Telnet console colors?

Is it possible to install your own .jar file for the SSH/Telnet applet?  I found a nice client called Mindterm that give you the "normal" options you'd expect from a SSH/Telnet client.  The built-in one is lousy.


Thanks.

Distinguished Expert
Posts: 2,400
Registered: ‎01-29-2008
0

Re: Set SSH/Telnet console colors?

Mindterm is quite nice - you can install your own Java applets for just about anything. Term Services, FTP, SSH -
Kevin Barker
JNCIP-SEC
JNCIS-ENT, FWV, SSL, WLAN
JNCIA-ER, EX, IDP, UAC, WX
Juniper Networks Certified Instructor
Juniper Networks Ambassador

Juniper Elite Reseller
J-Partner Service Specialist - Implementation

If this worked for you please flag my post as an "Accepted Solution" so others can benefit. A kudo would be cool if you think I earned it.
Regular Visitor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎01-08-2009
0

Re: Set SSH/Telnet console colors?

I'm not seeing where to associate the applet to the SSH profile.  I've seen where you can upload an applet for term server profiles, but not for ssh/telnet.

 

Thanks!

Distinguished Expert
Posts: 2,400
Registered: ‎01-29-2008

Re: Set SSH/Telnet console colors?

Can't add a Telnet/SSH Java applet as part of the "telnet/ssh" section.

 

Just go under Resource Profiles / Web - New Profile - Type = hosted Java applet. Upload the applet - then under bookmark you will need to generate some html code which the Admin GUI will do (partially). Edit it for applet name.

 

 

Kevin Barker
JNCIP-SEC
JNCIS-ENT, FWV, SSL, WLAN
JNCIA-ER, EX, IDP, UAC, WX
Juniper Networks Certified Instructor
Juniper Networks Ambassador

Juniper Elite Reseller
J-Partner Service Specialist - Implementation

If this worked for you please flag my post as an "Accepted Solution" so others can benefit. A kudo would be cool if you think I earned it.
Contributor
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎03-19-2009
0

Re: Set SSH/Telnet console colors?

I'm setting up my SA4500 for the first time and the telnet/ssh java app included is horrible.  It keeps crashing whenever I try to use vim in the console.  Have you gotten Mindterm to work?  I'd love to know how well that went.

 

Matt

____________________________
Matt Ausmus
Network Administrator
Chapman University

“Man will occasionally stumble over the truth, but most of the time he will pick himself up and continue on.”
- Churchill’s Commentary on Man
Distinguished Expert
Posts: 2,400
Registered: ‎01-29-2008
0

Re: Set SSH/Telnet console colors?

I do the MindTerm Java applet up and running as one of my option services for resource access and it works fine.
Kevin Barker
JNCIP-SEC
JNCIS-ENT, FWV, SSL, WLAN
JNCIA-ER, EX, IDP, UAC, WX
Juniper Networks Certified Instructor
Juniper Networks Ambassador

Juniper Elite Reseller
J-Partner Service Specialist - Implementation

If this worked for you please flag my post as an "Accepted Solution" so others can benefit. A kudo would be cool if you think I earned it.
Contributor
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎03-19-2009
0

Re: Set SSH/Telnet console colors?

Thanks for the reply.  I've gone through the documentation on uploading a java app and it seems pretty straight forward.  Anything hinky or anything that I need to keep in mind when uploading this app or using it?

 

Matt

____________________________
Matt Ausmus
Network Administrator
Chapman University

“Man will occasionally stumble over the truth, but most of the time he will pick himself up and continue on.”
- Churchill’s Commentary on Man
Highlighted
Distinguished Expert
Posts: 2,400
Registered: ‎01-29-2008

Re: Set SSH/Telnet console colors?

Not that I recall - give it a shot and give a yell if you run into anything funky. I am on the road today but could post my html to you on the weekend if you would like.
Kevin Barker
JNCIP-SEC
JNCIS-ENT, FWV, SSL, WLAN
JNCIA-ER, EX, IDP, UAC, WX
Juniper Networks Certified Instructor
Juniper Networks Ambassador

Juniper Elite Reseller
J-Partner Service Specialist - Implementation

If this worked for you please flag my post as an "Accepted Solution" so others can benefit. A kudo would be cool if you think I earned it.
Trusted Contributor
Posts: 446
Registered: ‎05-05-2008
0

Re: Set SSH/Telnet console colors?

re: Mindterm.   I tried to integrate it based on their documentation but I could only ever get a blank screen... Can you post your html?

 

On the same subject, do you think that Juniper should license this app and replace their current one?

Theodore E Van Iderstine
Stream Networks
+1 678 373 4200 x125
JNCIA-ER (expired), JNCIA-SSL (ditto)
Distinguished Expert
Posts: 2,400
Registered: ‎01-29-2008
0

Re: Set SSH/Telnet console colors?

Hey Theodore - I will be glad to post the code - slammed today so will probably end up putting it up tomorrow.

 

Personally - yes, I think that Juniper should "upgrade" their console app. I have a library of Java apps so that I can tell my customers what their options/choices are from freeware to purchased and I find that that the Juniper console app is just weak. Would be nice to see them either look at third party or do some work on it.

Kevin Barker
JNCIP-SEC
JNCIS-ENT, FWV, SSL, WLAN
JNCIA-ER, EX, IDP, UAC, WX
Juniper Networks Certified Instructor
Juniper Networks Ambassador

Juniper Elite Reseller
J-Partner Service Specialist - Implementation

If this worked for you please flag my post as an "Accepted Solution" so others can benefit. A kudo would be cool if you think I earned it.
Distinguished Expert
Posts: 2,400
Registered: ‎01-29-2008

Re: Set SSH/Telnet console colors?

Mindterm HTML - see attached file

 

Kevin Barker
JNCIP-SEC
JNCIS-ENT, FWV, SSL, WLAN
JNCIA-ER, EX, IDP, UAC, WX
Juniper Networks Certified Instructor
Juniper Networks Ambassador

Juniper Elite Reseller
J-Partner Service Specialist - Implementation

If this worked for you please flag my post as an "Accepted Solution" so others can benefit. A kudo would be cool if you think I earned it.
Regular Visitor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎01-08-2009
0

Re: Set SSH/Telnet console colors?

Mutt,

 

Couple more questions for you..

 

1 - I've added Mindterm.jar as a web applet, but I'm wondering if there is any way to streamline adding dozens of profiles with unique html for each site.  I would like to believe that there is a better and faster way of doing this.   (Hopefully anyway)

2 - The other thing is that according to Mindterm, I can do telnet sessions as well, but in looking at the docs, I'm not seeing it.

 

Thanks for the help!

Contributor
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎07-02-2009
0

Re: Set SSH/Telnet console colors?

Hi all,

 

Do anyone know of a VNC applet? I nedd a VNC applet to run like we do with the RDP.

 

Regards,

 

Rui Cordeiro

Contributor
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎03-19-2009
0

Re: Set SSH/Telnet console colors?

The TightVNC project has a java viewer.  I've used their software for years and it is my favorite flavor of VNC.  I've used the java viewer specifically on my Mac and it works pretty well.  Here's the link to the http://www.tightvnc.org/
____________________________
Matt Ausmus
Network Administrator
Chapman University

“Man will occasionally stumble over the truth, but most of the time he will pick himself up and continue on.”
- Churchill’s Commentary on Man
Distinguished Expert
Posts: 2,400
Registered: ‎01-29-2008
0

Re: Set SSH/Telnet console colors?

Will think about the profile issue - as for telnet - where did you see the MindTerm supports telnet? I thought I had all the documentation and I don't ever recall seeing that.
Kevin Barker
JNCIP-SEC
JNCIS-ENT, FWV, SSL, WLAN
JNCIA-ER, EX, IDP, UAC, WX
Juniper Networks Certified Instructor
Juniper Networks Ambassador

Juniper Elite Reseller
J-Partner Service Specialist - Implementation

If this worked for you please flag my post as an "Accepted Solution" so others can benefit. A kudo would be cool if you think I earned it.
Regular Visitor
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎01-08-2009
0

Re: Set SSH/Telnet console colors?

You can get the telnet option from this snapshot build:

 

'http://www.appgate.com/downloads/maf/mindterm.jar'

 

 

Do you have any ideas on how to save time when creating hundreds of connections?  I thought there might be a way to use user variables to call the host name, port, etc..  Otherwise, you're stuck creating custom html for each connection Smiley Sad

 

 

Thanks!

Distinguished Expert
Posts: 2,400
Registered: ‎01-29-2008
0

Re: Set SSH/Telnet console colors?

I wish there was an easy way to accomplish this. With TS you can give users the right to create their own bookmarks and with Java applets you can pass system variables like <<username>> and <<password>> but there is no code in SA box to allow for the setting of a local variable and have it passed into the Java html code.

 

I think that it would be a great feature. Have the variable set, perhaps like the TS bookmark and have it passed into the applet's html code. But it does not exist and I have not figured out any work-around to date.

 

Kevin Barker
JNCIP-SEC
JNCIS-ENT, FWV, SSL, WLAN
JNCIA-ER, EX, IDP, UAC, WX
Juniper Networks Certified Instructor
Juniper Networks Ambassador

Juniper Elite Reseller
J-Partner Service Specialist - Implementation

If this worked for you please flag my post as an "Accepted Solution" so others can benefit. A kudo would be cool if you think I earned it.