Routing

last person joined: 3 days ago 

Ask questions and share experiences about ACX Series, CTP Series, MX Series, PTX Series, SSR Series, JRR Series, and all things routing, including portfolios and protocols.
  • 1.  Confused about OSPF Export

Posted 03-21-2012 08:01

I'm very new to Junos and I'm a little confused about import and export policies. I just realized last night that they're from the perspective of the routing table and not the routing process, which certainly helped.  🙂

The OSPF default export policy is to reject everything, but since this is a link state protocol it still floods LSAs. If I understand this correctly, it has a couple of implications:

1. Single-area OSPF will work without configuring any export policy because all LSAs will be flooded.

2. Multi-area OSPF would require export policies in order for routes from one area to be advertised to other areas since this goes beyond simple per-area LSA flooding.

Is that correct? It's very confusing to read that the default export policy is to reject everything. In context of OSPF, I just can't figure out what it means.

Thanks,

John

• 2.  RE: Confused about OSPF Export

Posted 03-21-2012 09:49

hi Neiby

Before proceeding ahead, u need to understand concept of Backbone area first... This is the area to which all other areas are connected and is used to transport traffic/routing information in between multiple areas (if and when required)...

and then there are area area types you define while creating areas which define rules for routes to be passed in or out of that area , without requiring any additional export policy, definitly through LS Updates.... so here these  routes tell one area the routing information of other area.....(in an area u select DR which is responsible for intra area flooding of routes )..

Still u can use policy as and when u need to pass on some specific routes which are not being passed on otherwise(like some static routes etc)......