Routing
Trusted Contributor
ac

Documents for a NEW Juniper user (Most Read threads copied from the old J-Net)

[ Edited ]

scummins
Registered on:
Jun 11, 2007
Documents for a NEW Juniper user
Posted: Jun 15, 2007  9:37 AM 181 views

Good day Juniper Wizards

I am not sure I should be on this forum for this question, BUT

This is my first excursion into the Juniper world, I am the owner of a small network in Arizona that is a wholly owned subsidy of a large company in New York, I have been told I need to change my network to meet the requirements of the parent company which is load balanced Juniper firewalls in conjunction with IDP devices

So I recieved 4 Netscreen 204's and 2 600c IDP's. I have never worked with Juniper as a matter of fact I am an Exchange/SAN guy by profession, and have been giving the daunting task of configuring and installing these devices on my network.

we use Sonicwalls right now which are okay devices and I have learned them on the fly, My network is very simple. I have a corporate network with 5 VLANs Living on a Dell Powerconnect layer 3 switch, directly forwarding all traffic to a LAN port on a Sonicwall Firewall, I also have a DMZ which separates my corporate from my production and it is only 1 VLAN with the gateway actually the sonicwall at that end. and all traffic is routed by the sonicwalls.

I have two WAN connections on separate firewalls (one for corporate and one for production) which all outbound traffic is routed out.

So you can see I have a very simple network, My parent company wants me to set two firewall in between my coroporate and production and replace my corporate sonicwall with load balanced junipers using VRRP for both