Routing
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
jri
Visitor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎03-16-2017
0 Kudos

EVPN Configuration

Hi everyone,

 

I actually have a MPLS lab and I try to configure EVPN.

My P routers are EX4600 (in 14.1X53-D40.8) and my PE routers are MX104 (14.1R7.4).

The MPLS and the IGP (OSPF) work perfectly.

I added L3 VPN few days ago and all is OK.

 

Now, I try to configure EVPN to propose a new service.

Here is my configuration :

   ge-0/1/8 {
       flexible-vlan-tagging;
       encapsulation flexible-ethernet-services;
       unit 2100 {
           encapsulation vlan-bridge;
           vlan-id 2100;
       }
       unit 2200 {
           encapsulation vlan-bridge;
           vlan-id 2200;
       }
   }
[edit protocols bgp group AS65535]
      family evpn {
          signaling;
      }
[edit routing-instances]
   EVPN-C {
       instance-type virtual-switch;
       route-distinguisher A.B.C.D:2000;
	   interface ge-0/1/8.2100;
	   interface ge-0/1/8.2200;
       vrf-target target:65535:2000;
       protocols {
           evpn {
               extended-vlan-list [ 2100 2200 ];
           }
       }
       bridge-domains {
           BR-2100 {
			   domain-type bridge;
               vlan-id 2100;
               interface ge-0/1/8.2100;
           }
           BR-2200 {
		   	   domain-type bridge;
               vlan-id 2200;
               interface ge-0/1/8.2200;
           }
       }
   }

The configuration is adapted for each equipment but my EVPN doesn't work (no route).

 

Is my configuration false ?

Do you know if I need to upgrade my EX4600 or MX104 ? What is the recommended firmware ?

 

Thanks a lot

Super Contributor
Posts: 119
Registered: ‎12-10-2013
0 Kudos

Re: EVPN Configuration

Hi !

 

the first and as far as i know only good working EVPN version is 14.2R7.5 ( have 2 customers running on that and also running in my lab)

the config looks ok for me it is a pure Layer 2 EVPN ( no L3 via irb)

else for verification do a

show evpn instance extensive

show evpn database

show bridge mac

show arp

--- for the BGP part do:

show route advertising-protocol bgp <neighbor-ip>

show bgp neighbor

 

regards

 

alexander

 

PS: the EX4600 is not capable of EVPN ( but I assume that you know it)

 

Super Contributor
Posts: 119
Registered: ‎12-10-2013
0 Kudos

Re: EVPN Configuration

I also assume that under bgp group AS....

you also configured at least one neighbor

 

regards

 

alexander

jri
Visitor
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎03-16-2017
0 Kudos

Re: EVPN Configuration

Hello,

 

Thanks for your answer.

I'll give you the result of the command in few hours.

 

On my lab, I use Cisco router like RR. Is it possible to have an impact ?

If I use EX4600 like P router, can I achieve my lab with EVPN ? You give me some doubt Smiley Wink

 

Regards

Super Contributor
Posts: 119
Registered: ‎12-10-2013
0 Kudos

Re: EVPN Configuration

the EX4600 as P-router that is OK, as long as there is a LSP ( label switch path)

regarding RR, you have to check ( show bgp summary on the MX or show bgp neighbor an look if the EVPN family is accepted, else either make one PE to a RR or do a direct any-to-any IBGP for EVPN only

 

regards

 

alexander

Highlighted
Trusted Expert
Posts: 544
Registered: ‎08-15-2012
0 Kudos

Re: EVPN Configuration

Hi,

 

You could also check if the BGP EVPN table is populated on the PE:

show route table bgp.evpn.0

Cheers,

Ashvin

Contributor
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎06-16-2016
0 Kudos

Re: EVPN Configuration

I think your interface config is incorrect because you're doing a virtual-switch instance instead of an evpn instance. Try this config:

 

   ge-0/1/8 {
       flexible-vlan-tagging;
       encapsulation flexible-ethernet-services;
       unit 2100 {
            family bridge {
                interface-mode trunk;
                vlan-id-list 2100;
            }
       }
       unit 2200 {
            family bridge {
                interface-mode trunk;
                vlan-id-list 2200;
            }
       }
   }