Posts: 40
Registered: ‎04-14-2011

Explanation of the resolve keyword in static route

Can anyone explain what the resolve keyword does in a static route statement?


I am looking at an example in the Junos Routing Essentials course and it does not explain it very well.


It says that Junos does not do recurssive lookups of next hops by default?


Can anyone clarify or point me to some documentation?






I am a cisco guy and studying for my CCIE but this does not make sense

Recognized Expert
Posts: 369
Registered: ‎06-01-2011

Re: Explanation of the resolve keyword in static route



Not much links found


By default, static routes can point only to a directly connected next hop. You can configure an IPv4 route to a prefix that is not directly connected by resolving the route through the inet.0 and inet.3 routing tables. To configure an IPv4 static route to a prefix that is not a directly connected next hop, include the resolve statement:


- it means that you could configure any static route on direct connect IP only but if you want to make the next-hop of this static route on another router for example you couldn't by default and need resolve so the router will look on the routing table for this next-hop and if exist so the route will be valid and could forward traffic




Mohamed Elhariry





If this post was helpful, please mark this post as an "Accepted Solution".Kudos are always appreciated!

Mohamed Elhariry
2* JNCIE (SEC # 159, SP # 1059),JNCIP-ENT

[Click the "Star" for Kudos if you think I earned it!
If this solution worked for you please flag my post as an "Accepted Solution" so others can benefit..]
Trusted Contributor
Posts: 150
Registered: ‎07-05-2011

Re: Explanation of the resolve keyword in static route

[ Edited ]


  Cisco automatically resolve recursive routes. Those which next hop is not under directly connected interface. But Junos dont behave this way, so you have to configure the resolve option.


   For example, cisco config using recursive routes :


      ip route

      ip route


      interface fastethernet 0/0

        ip add


    Usually the second static route is some dynamic learned route, this have no sense to configure two recursive statics.


    Under Junos this config will be something like this :


      set routing-options static route next-hop resolve

      set routing-options static route next-hop


      set interface fe-0/0/0 unit 0 family inet address


        If you dont use the resolve option, the first static router will be hidden because this have no an active next hop.





If you want to say thanks, the word is Kudos!!.



New User
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-21-2015

Re: Explanation of the resolve keyword in static route

By default, the Junos OS requires that the next-hop IP address of static routes be reachable using a direct route. Unlike software
from other vendors, the Junos OS does not perform recursive lookups of next hops by default.


As illustrated in the graphic, you can alter the default next-hop resolution behavior using the resolve CLI option. In addition to the resolve CLI option, a route to the indirect next hop is also required. Indirect next hops can be resolved through another
static route or through a dynamic routing protocol. We recommend, whenever possible, that you use a dynamic routing protocol as your method of resolution. Using a dynamic routing protocol, rather than a static route to resolve indirect next hops,
dynamically removes the static route if the indirect next hop becomes unavailable.


JNCIA-Junos Study Guide—Part 2/Chapter 1: Routing Fundamentals /Resolving Indirect Next Hops/ PAGE-19


zoher kettab

Copyright© 1999-2015 Juniper Networks, Inc. All rights reserved.