Routing

last person joined: 4 days ago 

Ask questions and share experiences about ACX Series, CTP Series, MX Series, PTX Series, SSR Series, JRR Series, and all things routing, including portfolios and protocols.
  • 1.  Help with LDP targeted peers.

Posted 09-02-2014 21:14

Hi all.

I am hoping you can help me with trying to learn how JunOS is configured for LDP targeted peers. I have been going around in circles and just cannot seem to break out of my "other vendor" way of thinking..

I am a newbie to the Junos universe and way of thinking, and trying to broaden my knowledge to the Junos/Juniper side.

I have a Juniper MX-80 router with Junos ver. 12.3R6.6.

Essentially, I am trying to do the equivalent to Cisco's global command for a targeted LDP peer:

cisco(config)#mpls ldp neighbor <ip-address> targeted ldp

I have done a LOT of searching and finally found the following document:

http://www.juniper.net/techpubs/software/erx/junose93/swconfig-bgp-mpls/ldp-discovery-mechanisms.html

Unfortunately, I have not found much else that I have found helpful to me. Maybe I am not searching the correct terms for Junos/Juniper or something along those lines.

When I search on "mpls ldp targeted hello send list" I get the following document which is very vague:

http://www.juniper.net/techpubs/en_US/junose10.3/information-products/topic-collections/command-reference-a-m/mpls-ldp-targeted-hello-receive-list.html

When I try this I get the following:

!

MX-80> edit

Entering configuration mode

[edit]
    MX-80# set mpls
                        ^
    syntax error.

!

So, my plea is to have a Junos/Juniper Guru help me learn the Junos way of thinking "LDP targeted neighbours" and how Junos/Juniper achieves this as compared to the Cisco way. I am afraid that I have not had much success with what I have read so far in the Junos documentation.