Routing

last person joined: yesterday 

Ask questions and share experiences about ACX Series, CTP Series, MX Series, PTX Series, SSR Series, JRR Series, and all things routing, including portfolios and protocols.
Expand all | Collapse all

Intermittent packet loss

• 1.  Intermittent packet loss

Posted 06-02-2010 05:13
      |   view attached

Hi everybody.

First, a short introduction: I am Joakim, 29 years old from Sweden. I work as a systems architect at a medium-sized hosting company, and during the last few months, I've been in charge of replacing our Cisco routers with Juniper ones.

We decided to go for J6350's, which have been set up as drop-in replacements for Cisco 3825's. In my opinion, the original design of the network is a bit of a mess, but I didn't really have the possibility to change it.

Anyway, on to my problem.

As you see in the network diagram attached, I have two J6350's peering via eBGP with one transit provider each. Between the J6350's there are iBGP sessions set up, so that both routers can use routes from both eBGP peers. At present, only the transit peer to AS123 is up and running, which means the J6350 labeled a.b.42.2/23 in the diagram reaches the Internet via iBGP through a.b.42.3/23. The J6350's uses VRRP to make the address labled a.b.42.1 highly available to the firewalls, which uses it as its default gateway. As you also can see, there are a lot of LACP/EtherChannel/trunking going on, and to top it off, an RSTP tree.