Routing
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Contributor
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎02-09-2009
0 Kudos

J-6350 Packet-mode throughput

Hi,

 

I have one J-6350 with the four integrated 4 10/100/1000 ports. I have configured the J-series to work in Packet-mode.

Have some problems finding the specification about throughput on these ports in packet-mode.

 

Anyone who know how much traffic these ports can handle?

 

Contributor
Posts: 39
Registered: ‎05-07-2010
0 Kudos

Re: J-6350 Packet-mode throughput

*bump* I'd like to know too....

Distinguished Expert
Posts: 819
Registered: ‎04-17-2008
0 Kudos

Re: J-6350 Packet-mode throughput

I vaguely recall having this discussion about 3 years ago with someone and if memory serves me, the 4 interfaces on the J-Series are oversubscribed 2-to-1 i.e. there are 2x 1Gbps buses connected to the 4 ports, so if you want to do line rate, only use 0 and 2 or 1 and 3.

 

This was a long time ago though and it may have only been relevant to the 4350.

Ben Dale
JNCIP-ENT, JNCIS-SP, JNCIE-SEC #63
Juniper Ambassador
Follow me @labelswitcher
Highlighted
Contributor
Posts: 39
Registered: ‎05-07-2010
0 Kudos

Re: J-6350 Packet-mode throughput

Can you some tell me, or point me to where, the specs are for the bandwidth on the backplane the pims are connecting too?

Contributor
Posts: 58
Registered: ‎06-02-2008
0 Kudos

Re: J-6350 Packet-mode throughput

I tested the J6350 4-port built-in interface with a traffic generator.  it only accepts 500mbps of total traffic for all ports.  its either i have a defective unit or is this the normal behavior?

Contributor
Posts: 39
Registered: ‎05-07-2010
0 Kudos

Re: J-6350 Packet-mode throughput

dfex above noted that the ports are oversubscribed 2-1 so the theoretical limit would be 2gbit.  However the cpu would likely be the limiting factor in your test.

 

What kind of traffic were you generating and what's your config like?