Routing
Reply
Contributor
klumpen
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎02-09-2009
0

J-6350 Packet-mode throughput

Hi,

 

I have one J-6350 with the four integrated 4 10/100/1000 ports. I have configured the J-series to work in Packet-mode.

Have some problems finding the specification about throughput on these ports in packet-mode.

 

Anyone who know how much traffic these ports can handle?

 

Contributor
miliscent
Posts: 39
Registered: ‎05-07-2010
0

Re: J-6350 Packet-mode throughput

*bump* I'd like to know too....

Distinguished Expert
dfex
Posts: 740
Registered: ‎04-17-2008
0

Re: J-6350 Packet-mode throughput

I vaguely recall having this discussion about 3 years ago with someone and if memory serves me, the 4 interfaces on the J-Series are oversubscribed 2-to-1 i.e. there are 2x 1Gbps buses connected to the 4 ports, so if you want to do line rate, only use 0 and 2 or 1 and 3.

 

This was a long time ago though and it may have only been relevant to the 4350.

Ben Dale
JNCIP-ENT, JNCIS-SP, JNCIE-SEC #63
Juniper Ambassador
Follow me @labelswitcher
Contributor
miliscent
Posts: 39
Registered: ‎05-07-2010
0

Re: J-6350 Packet-mode throughput

Can you some tell me, or point me to where, the specs are for the bandwidth on the backplane the pims are connecting too?

Contributor
cyke
Posts: 56
Registered: ‎06-02-2008
0

Re: J-6350 Packet-mode throughput

I tested the J6350 4-port built-in interface with a traffic generator.  it only accepts 500mbps of total traffic for all ports.  its either i have a defective unit or is this the normal behavior?

Contributor
miliscent
Posts: 39
Registered: ‎05-07-2010
0

Re: J-6350 Packet-mode throughput

dfex above noted that the ports are oversubscribed 2-1 so the theoretical limit would be 2gbit.  However the cpu would likely be the limiting factor in your test.

 

What kind of traffic were you generating and what's your config like?

Copyright© 1999-2013 Juniper Networks, Inc. All rights reserved.