Routing

last person joined: 2 days ago 

Ask questions and share experiences about ACX Series, CTP Series, MX Series, PTX Series, SSR Series, JRR Series, and all things routing, including portfolios and protocols.
  • 1.  Junos policies: route-filter vs prefix-lists

Posted 10-28-2011 02:06

Experts,

I'm new to playing with policies on Junos.  While configuring some vrf-leaking policies today, I found that the funcationality of prefix -lists is also duplicated by route-filters (as far as matching routes is concerned in my small test topology).  

Are there any specific scenarios (or limitations) where one would want to use prefix-lists over route-filters and vice-versa?

Please let me know.

Cheers

• 2.  RE: Junos policies: route-filter vs prefix-lists
    Best Answer

Posted 10-28-2011 03:48

Prefix list is a named group of prefixes, with the following format prefix/netmask

Route filters has more options and are especially useful when you need to define ranges of prefixes...

If you think that's cumbersome to define each time the route-filters in policies, then you could use nested policies where inner policy is used to aggregate route-filters while the outer to perform specific actions:

For example:

policy-statement import_S5-S8 {

term 1 {

from {

protocol bgp;

community S5-S8;

}

then accept;

}

term 10 {

from {

community Gn;

policy Gn-DT_to_S5;

}

then accept;

}

}

inner policy:

dpa@JCore503# show policy-options policy-statement Gn-DT_to_S5

term 1 {

from {

route-filter………………………..;

route-filter ……………………….;

}

then accept;

}

• 3.  RE: Junos policies: route-filter vs prefix-lists

Posted 10-28-2011 17:43

Honestly, I rarely use route-filters.

route-filter 0.0.0.0/0 prefix-length-range /25-/32 reject;
                prefix-list-filter bgp-networks-ASN orlonger;