Routing
Reply
Trusted Contributor
gdavies
Posts: 115
Registered: ‎11-05-2007
0

Re: Multiple OSPF processes

Hi Tiziano,

 

Hmm, I think then that the no-forwarding routing-instance only uses the rib-group to import the routing information into the local RIB but it is not eligible to be passed on unless, as you discovered, it is redistributed as a type 5 into the main inet.0.  The other alternative is to have your other routing-instance universally and then use rib-groups everywhere to transfer the info to the local inet.0 rib.

 

A third option would be to use a virtual-router (or logical-router on J-series, which don't support virtual-routers, IIRC) and have your two 'processes' in different logical-routers.  If you then create a physical connection between the two, you could create a direct adjacency from between the two processes.  However, that would lead to routing information from the main inet.0 being leaked back into instance.inet.0

 

Rgds,

 

Guy 

---
Guy Davies
Contributor
Tizius
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎06-30-2008
0

Re: Multiple OSPF processes

OK Guy,

thank you for your suggestions. J-series routers do not support logical routers. They do support "virtual-router". As a matter of fact, when you define a routing instance, there is the possibility to choose the  "instance-type virtual-router".

I will give a closer look to this problem, for the moment we have a solution. Refinements will be left for the future.

 

I thank you again for your precious help.

 

Greetings from Italy,

Tiziano

Trusted Contributor
gdavies
Posts: 115
Registered: ‎11-05-2007
0

Re: Multiple OSPF processes

Doh!  I always get those the wrong way round.  Thanks for reminding me and making sure that my mistake isn't perpetuated on the list :-)

 

Rgds,

 

Guy 

---
Guy Davies
Contributor
NESG
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎01-07-2009
0

Re: Multiple OSPF processes

Hi,

 

Am planning to implement a setup with multiple ospf process in MX80 router.

I have already created one ospf process with ID#10 on this router.

I want to create new process with ID#20 with area-nssa and import the routes into inet.0 and also redistribute the routes IBGP to advertise the routes to other router.

Hope we can configure new process ID#20 creating routing instance and define domain-id #20.

Can anyone share me configuration for this above requirement.

Also pls tell me can i create this new process when am already running normal ospf process in this router??

 

Thanks...

Trusted Contributor
acecanal
Posts: 149
Registered: ‎07-05-2011
0

Re: Multiple OSPF processes

 

Hi Tizius, look at the following post about multiple ospf process. This is a translation example from a Cisco configuration to a Juniper configuration. This works, i test this in lab. If you are a Cisco guy will understand better the ios and junos configuration translation.

 

 

http://forums.juniper.net/t5/IOS-to-Junos-I2J-Tips-Contest/Multiple-OSPF-instances/td-p/137233

Br
Alex

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

If you want to say thanks, the word is Kudos!!.

Thx.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

JNCIA-JUNOS, JNCIS-ENT, JNCIS-SP, JNCIP-SP.
CCNA, CCNP, Written CCIE.
Copyright© 1999-2013 Juniper Networks, Inc. All rights reserved.