Routing
Contributor
Tizius
Accepted Solution

Multiple OSPF processes

Hi,

I'm pretty new with Juniper routers, but have been working for a long time with Cisco routers. I kindly ask to all forum partecipants how I can, as in Cisco routers, activate two (or more) different OSPF processes on the router. In Cisco routers there the concept of process-ID which I couldn't find in Juniper routers.

I tried using different routing instances on my J-series routers following some ideas in the JUNOS Routing Configuration Guide but I didn't obtain the expected results. I don't whether it can depend on JUNOS release which is a little bit old (7.1). 

Can anybody give me an idea ?

Thanks a lot in advance.

Tiziano

Trusted Contributor
gdavies

Re: Multiple OSPF processes

Hi Tiziano,

routing-instances are definitely the way to go.  You can create a routing-instance for each of the OSPF "processes" you want.  Each of those routing-instances will have associated interfaces.  You can then configure OSPF within the routing-instance and associate the interfaces with the OSPF area.  Then you should be able to see the neighbours with...

show ospf neighbor instance $your-instance-name$

...and the routing table for your instance with... 

show route table $your-instance-name$.inet.0

You may want to exchange routing information with the main routing-instance by using rib-groups.  You can do the following...

routing-options {

rib-groups {

my-rib {

import-ribs [ my-instance.inet.0 inet.0 ];

}

}

}

routing-instances {

my-instance {

interface so-0/0/0.0;

interface ge-1/0/0.0; 

rib-group my-rib;

protocols {

ospf {

area 0.0.0.0 {

interface so-0/0/0.0;

interface ge-1/0/0.0;

}

}

}

}

}

I hope that gives you some pointers. 

Rgds,

Guy 

---
Guy Davies
Contributor
Tizius

Hi Guy,