Routing
Reply
Visitor
rommy
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎09-05-2009
0

PE as ASBR

Can a PE router ack as ASBR and receive full internet router ? When i add new routing-instance all my bgp peer was reset .
Distinguished Expert
mikep
Posts: 483
Registered: ‎06-30-2009

Re: PE as ASBR

Hi,

 

> Can a PE router ack as ASBR and receive full internet router ?

it depends on the router capabilities and not on the role (ASBR) of the router. 

 

>When i add new routing-instance all my bgp peer was reset . 

What changes exactly you had? Paste output of "show | compare rollback 1".

 

Kind Regards

Michael Pergament

Visitor
rommy
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎09-05-2009
0

Re: PE as ASBR

Mikep,

 

I just add this simple L3 VRF 

 

routing-instances {
    cust-a1 {
        instance-type vrf;
        interface ge-1/3/0.15;
        route-distinguisher 121.100.5.84:1;
        vrf-target {
            import target:38158:1;
            export target:38158:1;
        }
        routing-options {
            static {
                route 172.16.10.0/24 next-hop 121.100.7.6;
            }
        }
    }

 After i add this configuration and then all my bgp peer suddenly down . 

This is my case number at JTAC 2009-0901-0780

 

Rommy

Trusted Contributor
Posts: 54
Registered: ‎08-03-2009
0

Re: PE as ASBR

Yes. ASBR and PE can be same if you have memory enough to handle all routes and ASICs finc apacity is enough.
//Patrik
JNCIS-M, JNCIS-ES
System Engineer
Juniper Networks
Copyright© 1999-2013 Juniper Networks, Inc. All rights reserved.