Routing
Reply
Contributor
devicebusy
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎09-19-2008
0
Accepted Solution

QinQ on J series

[ Edited ]

Hello all!

 

Can J series router directly terminate QinQ traffic on interface with flexible-vlan-tagging option?

I have try to create QinQ on ES3528M switch but monitor interface shows me only errors on interface, no packets. When i have monitored same wire with tcpdump - i have seen correct double tagged frames.

 

Thanks alot!

Message Edited by devicebusy on 13.08.2009 08:04 PM
Trusted Contributor
Posts: 54
Registered: ‎08-03-2009
0

Re: QinQ on J series

Hello,

 

I am runnign something as old as JUNOS 9.1 on my J series routers and there I cant even configure QinQ termination. Can you even configure flexible-vlan-tagging on your interface?

 

Cheers

Patrik

//Patrik
JNCIS-M, JNCIS-ES
System Engineer
Juniper Networks
Contributor
devicebusy
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎09-19-2008
0

Re: QinQ on J series

[ Edited ]

 

Hello,

 

i am sorry for late, the device is used in another lab, and soon will go to production use, QinQ doesnt functional yet :smileysad:.

 

I have 9.2 and 9.6 JunOS, configuration seems to be simple according the manual:

 

http://www.juniper.net/techpubs/software/junos/junos94/swconfig-network-interfaces/interfaces-enabling-vlan-tagging.html

 

[edit interfaces ge-fpc/pic/port]
flexible-vlan-tagging;
unit logical-unit-number {
    vlan-id number;

    family family {
        address address;
    }

}
unit logical-unit-number {
    vlan-tags inner tpid.vlan-id outer tpid.vlan-id;

    family family {
        address address;
    }

}

 

But its not working for me.

Message Edited by devicebusy on 28.08.2009 08:59 AM
Trusted Contributor
Posts: 54
Registered: ‎08-03-2009
0

Re: QinQ on J series

Interesting, I will check this and come back!
//Patrik
JNCIS-M, JNCIS-ES
System Engineer
Juniper Networks
Contributor
devicebusy
Posts: 23
Registered: ‎09-19-2008
0

Re: QinQ on J series

Hello,

 

seems to JSeries doesnt support it:

 

 Aug 28 07:06:19  core-domino /kernel: ether_iflconfig:ge-0/0/3 (porttype 7) does not support vlan-tags outer <vlan-id> inner <vlan-id> option
Aug 28 07:06:19  core-domino dcd[1065]: DCD_CONFIG_WRITE_FAILED: Interface ge-0/0/3.333, configuration write failed for an IFL ADD: Operation not supported
Aug 28 07:06:19  core-domino rpd[1041]: EVENT <Add> ge-0/0/3.32767 index 82 <Up Broadcast Multicast> address #0 0.24.dc.12.e3.3
Aug 28 07:06:19  core-domino mib2d[1063]: SNMP_TRAP_LINK_UP: ifIndex 148, ifAdminStatus up(1), ifOperStatus up(1), ifName ge-0/0/3.32767
Aug 28 07:06:19  core-domino rpd[1041]: EVENT <SNMP Index> ge-0/0/3.32767 index 82 <Up Broadcast Multicast> address #0 0.24.dc.12.e3.3
Aug 28 07:06:19  core-domino /kernel: if_pfe: Error 5 (Invalid) on IF command 10 (IFD ioctl)
Aug 28 07:06:19  core-domino fwdd[1068]: IFFPC: 'IFD ioctl' (opcode 10) failed
Aug 28 07:06:19  core-domino fwdd[1068]:   ifd 134; ioctl vector is Null

 

 ge-0/0/3 {
    stacked-vlan-tagging;
    unit 333 {
        vlan-tags outer 0x8100.100 inner 0x8100.99;
        family inet {
            address 10.55.1.2/24;
        }
    }
}

 

[edit interfaces]
root@core-domino# run show interfaces ge-0/0/3.333
error: interface ge-0/0/3.333 not found

 

Its simply doesnt create interface unit...

Trusted Contributor
Posts: 54
Registered: ‎08-03-2009

Re: QinQ on J series

Internally verfied. It is not supported on Jseries.
//Patrik
JNCIS-M, JNCIS-ES
System Engineer
Juniper Networks
Trusted Contributor
Posts: 54
Registered: ‎08-03-2009
0

Re: QinQ on J series

Hmm maybe check later releases like 10.x to see if it changes,,,
//Patrik
JNCIS-M, JNCIS-ES
System Engineer
Juniper Networks
Copyright© 1999-2013 Juniper Networks, Inc. All rights reserved.