Routing
Reply
Trusted Contributor
IOS2JunOS
Posts: 92
Registered: ‎10-17-2008
0

RR question

Hi All- I need some clarification- If i have 3 RRs fully mesed and clients only peer with 2 of the 3 RRs, is there any issue with that or do the clients need to peer with all RRs. also all RR use the same cluster ID.

 

Thanks

 

Recognized Expert
JNPRdhanks
Posts: 305
Registered: ‎11-01-2010
0

Re: RR question

Sounds like you're over-building.  What's the use case for the 3rd BGP RR?  Typically we 2 routers serving as a BGP RR with the same cluster-id.  Remember to use a vanilla IBGP connection between the two RRs.

 

All clients need to have a connection to each BGP RR for full redundancy.

Doug Hanks
JNCIE-ENT #213, JNCIE-SP #875

Follow me on Twitter @douglashanksjr
Recognized Expert
sfouant
Posts: 190
Registered: ‎11-28-2007
0

Re: RR question

IOS2JunOS,

I have seen just this exact design configuration at a major university and there should be no problems with this design. The dual peering gives you the required redundancy, it is not a requirement however that Route Reflector clients form peer with all Route Reflectors.

For what its worth, for scaling of very large networks it is not uncommon to have several pairs of route reflectors, and route reflector clients will only pair with their respective clusters... Also I have seen implementations that actually separate RR clusters whereby one cluster is used for IPv4 routes, whereas another cluster is used for VPN-NLRI... Lots of options here.

You are well within spec...
Stefan Fouant
JNCIE-SEC, JNCIE-SP, JNCIE-ENT, JNCI
Technical Trainer, Juniper Networks

Follow us on Twitter @JuniperEducate

--
If this post was helpful, please mark this post as an "Accepted Solution".
Kudos are always appreciated!
Trusted Contributor
IOS2JunOS
Posts: 92
Registered: ‎10-17-2008
0

Re: RR question

cool..thank you both for the usefull info..

Trusted Contributor
IOS2JunOS
Posts: 92
Registered: ‎10-17-2008
0

Re: RR question

what's a good box to use for RR? is MX 5 good enough?

Recognized Expert
sfouant
Posts: 190
Registered: ‎11-28-2007
0

Re: RR question

That's not an easy question to answer.  What type of routes will it be carrying?  Just IPv4? VPNv4-NLRI? IPv6? How many routing instances, and expected number of routes in each?  BGP Full Routes, etc.?

 

The MX in and of itself is an awesome platform, but you are going to want to take a look at the datasheets for each platform and determine if they meet your requirements based on the routing and forwarding table memory size, etc.

 

HTHs.

Stefan Fouant
JNCIE-SEC, JNCIE-SP, JNCIE-ENT, JNCI
Technical Trainer, Juniper Networks

Follow us on Twitter @JuniperEducate

--
If this post was helpful, please mark this post as an "Accepted Solution".
Kudos are always appreciated!
Trusted Contributor
IOS2JunOS
Posts: 92
Registered: ‎10-17-2008
0

Re: RR question

[ Edited ]

IPV4 and IPV6 routes only. no VPNs, single routing instance...

RR will have about 10 clients to start- could increase to 15-20 later..each client has about 1mil bgp route with around 370k active bgp routes..

Trusted Contributor
Saurabh
Posts: 171
Registered: ‎09-08-2009
0

Re: RR question

You may go ahead with MX240 with RE-2000. (It has been used for dedicated RR no forwarding through RR).

 

I am using same for one of the ISP design.

 

Hope this helps.

Saurabh Joshi
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
CCNA,CCIP/JNCIA-EX,ER/JNCIS-ER,SEC,M/JNCIP-M
Trusted Contributor
IOS2JunOS
Posts: 92
Registered: ‎10-17-2008
0

Re: RR question

cool..i was thinking along the same line..thanks

Contributor
Robbie
Posts: 269
Registered: ‎06-07-2011
0

Re: RR question

hi,Stefan

my question is:

If I configure 2 RR server as client for each other,what will happen?

 

r3 RR client of r1 and r2

r4 RR client of r1 and r2

 r1 and r2 are RR server of r3 and r4

if I set r1 as client of r2,r2 as client of r2 ,what will happen?

 

 

JNCIE-SP/JNCIP-SEC/CCNP
Copyright© 1999-2013 Juniper Networks, Inc. All rights reserved.