Routing
Visitor
sock

Routing question

Hi all,

I'd be really grateful for some help, we have a Juniper SSG5 firewall installed on our LAN and we're planning on putting a proxy server between it and our LAN switch.  The Juniper will stay as our edge firewall but will be on a different network than our LAN -

Current setup - flat LAN on a 192.168.X.X /16, inside interface of the Juniper is 192.168.1.2 and the outside is directly attached to an ADSL router

New setup - LAN attached to a proxy server which will have an inside interface of 192.168.1.2 and an out outside of 10.0.0.1, the Juniper will be directly connected on its inside interface of 10.0.0.2.  The Juniper will have an outside interface connected to the ADSL router, same as before.

We have VIP (I think that's the terminology) setup on the outside interface so for example, our SMTP is translated from XXX.XXX.XXX.XXX:25 to 192.168.1.X:25 along with a few other ports.

I'm very new to Juniper firewalls, my previous experience has been on a Cisco ASA but I was by no means an expert on that.  When we inserted the proxy server, we changed the internal interface to 10.0.0.2 and I added a route for 192.168.0.0 /16 to be passed to the inside interface but I could see no traffic hitting the outside interface of the Proxy server (the interface directly connected to the Juniper).

I understand this is probably quite a complex issue so if I've left out any pertinent information then I'll post back with what ever is required.

Thank you for any help and assistance with this.

Ben.

Distinguished Expert
spuluka

Re: Routing question

Since your interface is no longer in the 192.168.0.0/16 network you wll have to associate this with a zone for firewall rules.

I assume when you changed the internal LAN interface on the SSG the zone and all the rules remain the same.

If that is the case then:

Create an address object for the 192.168.0.0/16 in the same zone as your LAN interface.