Routing
Contributor
GustavO

Setting up shaping either through virtual channels of hierarchical shaping

Hi!

[disclaimer: sorry for cross-posting this, also mistakenly in the firewalls section] 

I'm pretty new to juniper/JUNOS and have done mostly the things I'm now trying to achieve on a j-series router previously in linux so my terminology might be a bit off, bear with me :-)

I have several /24's allocated to customers on a specific interface which i then subnet into smaller allocations (/30 or /29) and assign these to customers. I have two types of customers, best effort and dedicated. The dedicated customers should have no less and no more than their dedicated bandwidth and the best effort customers share the remains of the link after the dedicated customers have taken their bandwidth. An example of this would be:

ge-0/0/1 (100m)

dedicated (30m)

dedicated customer 1 (10m)

dedicated customer 2 (20m)

best effort (70m)

best effort customer 1 (20m)

best effort customer 2 (10m)

best effort customer n (10m)

The hierarchical model in the CoS part of the manual describes my scenario rather well but in my case I don't have the customers on separate vlans but on the same vlan, different subnets. Is it possible to achieve that same model or what I'm trying to describe above where customers are classified based on their src/dst subnet?

I have also looked at the virtual channel functionality but this seem specifically geared at controlling upstream speed to certain destinations. I have the hierarchical need but the virtual channels seem a good pick otherwise since it uses different queues and buffers for each channel which is neat since I wan't customers to be unaffected by each others traffic.

Any hints or suggestions with this?

Thanks in advance! 

Contributor
GustavO

Re: Setting up shaping either through virtual channels of hierarchical shaping