SRX Services Gateway
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Contributor
Posts: 40
Registered: ‎11-01-2010
0 Kudos

AX-411 working for 3 seconds

Hi,

I have an SRX240poe, and just recently got the AX411's to start learning these devices. 

I have firmware 10.1.3.11 on the AP

And am running 10.2R3.10 on the SRX. 

 

I had this working for a little while, but I've noticed the connections are gone from my wireless networks.  When I look at the AP, the only leds lit are for:

Power= green

status=green. 

When I reset the AP manually, it starts working (all leds lit properly) and my laptop connects, and then the connection is lost after 3 seconds and the leds go back to what I posted above.  I am trying to run this in cluster mode. 

Any idea what could be the issue, incompatibility with the versions of firmware and os? 

 

 

While I'm at it let me have a little Q and A if anyone wants to share some knowledge.  

Is there a way to reset the AP from the command line? 

Is there a way to restart the wireless lan service on the srx?

Is there a way to log into the AP itself?  I tried via the web browser with no success.  I'd like to hard code the IP if possible. 

Where is this profile for ssid: juniper-default coming from?  I don't need that and can't see it in the cli. 

 

Thank you. 

Contributor
Posts: 40
Registered: ‎11-01-2010
0 Kudos

Re: AX-411 working for 3 seconds

Here's a little update, I added a second AP to the cluster (replaceing the other one) and the firmware is 10.1.3.7, I plugged it into the same port that the other one was plugged into, so far it is working flawlessly for the past ~10 minutes. 

 

Is there a way to revert my firmware down to 10.1.3.7, and what is the recommended version? 

Super Contributor
Posts: 313
Registered: ‎09-30-2009
0 Kudos

Re: AX-411 working for 3 seconds

10.1.3.9

 

I had fits with 10.1.3.7 and 10.1.3.9 has these things running like a champ.

Contributor
Posts: 40
Registered: ‎11-01-2010
0 Kudos

Re: AX-411 working for 3 seconds

cole, I do remember your post.  Thanks for that.  I figured upgrading to the latest firmware would be better than upgrading to the previous version.  Maybe I was wrong. 

Anyway, here's a little more info. 

Last night before leaving the office, I plugged in the AX411 which was giving me trouble, and got a solid connection, I setup a ping to the gateway from a laptop connected via wireless and left the office.  When I returned this morning, the wireless was down again. 

I am going to downgrade the firmware to 10.1.3.9, but to me, this sounds like something that may be heat related.  If the device is on for a while, it drops wireless access.  If I reset it, it still doesn't work.  If I disconnect it for some time to let it cool down and then connect it, it works for a tlittle while again, and then stops working. 

 

Also, I will be managing these things from another state.

I'm sure there are commands to power down and restart the devices via the SRX, but how do I do that? 

also, anyone know where I can find the config for juniper-default wlan ssid?  I'd like to remove that. 

Super Contributor
Posts: 313
Registered: ‎09-30-2009
0 Kudos

Re: AX-411 working for 3 seconds

This is exactly the type of thing mine were doing...  Radio connection would go down, IP address allocation would cease to work, general connectivity was poor...

 

Youll be fine after the upgrade I suspect.

Contributor
Posts: 40
Registered: ‎11-01-2010
0 Kudos

Re: AX-411 working for 3 seconds

[ Edited ]

But the one with the issue is running the latest firmware.  So far, the one running the older firmware is solid. 

Unless I have my versions mixed up and 10.1.3.11 is not the latest? 

Super Contributor
Posts: 313
Registered: ‎09-30-2009
0 Kudos

Re: AX-411 working for 3 seconds

Right, but I ran .9 per recommendation by JTAC.

Contributor
Posts: 40
Registered: ‎11-01-2010
0 Kudos

Re: AX-411 working for 3 seconds

I finally got .9 on that AP, I'll test it out and let you'll know whats up. 

Contributor
Posts: 40
Registered: ‎11-01-2010
0 Kudos

Re: AX-411 working for 3 seconds

So I was able to get a little more info, the thing dropped connections again. 

This time I got Unmanaged [Authentication failed] when running

show wlan access-points test-ap-1

Trusted Expert
Posts: 784
Registered: ‎11-01-2007
0 Kudos

Re: AX-411 working for 3 seconds

This is sounding like a hardware #fail. I would recommend contacting either JTAC or your reseller. If we had an endemic problem we'd be seeing it in aggregate internal here @juniper and I'm not hearing anything.

 

-Keith

Contributor
Posts: 40
Registered: ‎11-01-2010
0 Kudos

Re: AX-411 working for 3 seconds

JTAC won't take the device back for RMA since I don't have a support contract on this device.  They want me to purchase the support contract.  I'm amazed that there is no base hardware warrantee on these expensive devices.  I purchased two and it's clear that one of them has had issue's since day one.  I've only had these for about two weeks.  I wasn't even aware there was a seperate support warrantee needed when I purchased these.  I'm very upset with Junos right now.  I guess it's clear that Junos is infact like Cisco afterall. 

Distinguished Expert
Posts: 2,406
Registered: ‎01-29-2008

Re: AX-411 working for 3 seconds

That does not make sense. The Juniper guarentee is one year for hardware and 90 days for software, whether or not you have a service contract. Without a contract you can't call in for support but you can return defective product. I manage Pro-Services for a Juniper Elite Partner so I have to deal with this stuff.

 

Following is the process for dealing with bad merchandise:

 

Hardware Return Procedures: Any defective item can only be returned if it references a return material authorization (“RMA”) number issued by authorized Juniper Networks service personnel. To request an RMA number, customer must contact Juniper Networks Technical Assistance Center (“JTAC”) via the online resource available at the URL: http://www.juniper.net/support. JTAC will only assist customers with online RMA processing pursuant to the terms of this warranty and will not provide any troubleshooting, configuration or installation assistance. Telephone calls to JTAC will not be accepted unless the customer has purchased a valid Juniper Networks service contract that is in effect as of the time of the call. The RMA number must be included on the outside carton label of the returned item. Transportation costs, if any, incurred in connection with the return of a defective item to Juniper Networks shall be borne by customer to the in-country location, if available. Juniper Networks shall pay any transportation costs incurred with the redelivery of a repaired or replaced item. If, however, Juniper Networks reasonably determines that the item is functional, the customer shall pay any transportation cost. If Juniper Networks determines, at its sole discretion, that the allegedly defective item is not covered by the terms of the warranty provided hereunder or that a warranty claim is made after the warranty period, the cost of repair by Juniper Networks, including all shipping expenses, shall be paid by customer.

Kevin Barker
JNCIP-SEC
JNCIS-ENT, FWV, SSL, WLAN
JNCIA-ER, EX, IDP, UAC, WX
Juniper Networks Certified Instructor
Juniper Networks Ambassador

Juniper Elite Reseller
J-Partner Service Specialist - Implementation

If this worked for you please flag my post as an "Accepted Solution" so others can benefit. A kudo would be cool if you think I earned it.
Trusted Expert
Posts: 784
Registered: ‎11-01-2007
0 Kudos

Re: AX-411 working for 3 seconds

Agree with Kevin - private message me the case number and your serial number and I'll make sure it gets handled properly.

 

-Keith

Contributor
Posts: 40
Registered: ‎11-01-2010
0 Kudos

Re: AX-411 working for 3 seconds

Thanks guys.  I really appreciate the help these forums can provide. 

I am currently RMAing back to the reseller as they agree that something had to be done asap. 

 

I will be purchasing support contracts for the equipment, pending cost analysis from the company.  It's not much of a cost, so I don't think it would be a problem. 

I will let you know how I make out with the new equipment. 

Visitor
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎04-24-2011
0 Kudos

Re: AX-411 working for 3 seconds

I had the same problem, with the same solution, the unit was RMAed.