SRX

last person joined: 20 hours ago 

Ask questions and share experiences about the SRX Series, vSRX, and cSRX.
  • 1.  Config differences question

Posted 03-15-2011 14:32

SRX newbie here, but long time NS/SSG user.

I'm trying to find out why people post the "long" configs vs the "short" ones. ( I realize I probably have the terms wrong.)

To me it seems that the "long" version is fairly useless. Can it be copied and pasted into the device to set the config? If not, why bother with it? I can see that it can make interpreting the config a little easier, but that's about it.

I ask because I'm looking at a KB article [15545] that has 400 lines of "long" code that can probably be done in 30-40 with the "short" code. And now I have to reverse engineer the 400 lines used to figure out what I actually need to TYPE into the console. So frustrating!

Is there a tool I can dump "long" code in and get "short" code out?

Enlighten me please.

Thanks!

For example, here's a "short" one

set interfaces vlan unit 0 family inet address 192.168.1.1/24

And the "long" version of the same thing

interfaces {
    vlan {
    unit 0 {
    family inet {
    address 192.168.1.1/24;
    }
    }
    }
    }

#cli

• 2.  RE: Config differences question
    Best Answer

Posted 03-15-2011 14:40

I completely disagree about the configuration being useless.

The configuration is hierarchical.  Each item has its rightful place.  Interfaces go in the interfaces stanza.  Protocols go in the protocols stanza.  So on and so forth.  With IOS it's just a bunch of configuration commands with very little organization.  Where do you configure OSPF?  "router ospf"  Where do you configure an OSPF interface type?  On the actual interface.  With Junos it's all under [protocols ospf].

The way you modify the configuration is through the CLI with commands such as set, delete, replace and rename.  These commands aren't the configuration.  They're editing commands.